IARC History

The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) is the outcome of an initiative by a group of leading French public figures, who succeeded in persuading President de Gaulle to adopt a project to lighten humanity's ever-growing burden of cancer. The project rapidly gained momentum, and IARC was created on 20 May 1965, by a resolution of the World Health Assembly, as the specialized cancer agency of the World Health Organization. The Agency's headquarters building was provided by its host in Lyon, France.

IARC has its own Governing Council, and in 1965 the first members were the Federal Republic of Germany, France, Italy, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. Today, IARC's membership has grown to 25 countries.

The first IARC Director was John Higginson (1966-1981), who was followed by Lorenzo Tomatis (1982-1993), Paul Kleihues (1994-2003), Peter Boyle (2004-2008), and Christopher Wild (2009-present).

Over the past five decades, IARC has conducted research worldwide and helped thousands of cancer researchers from developing countries hone their skills through fellowships, courses, and collaborative projects.


International Agency for Research on Cancer: The First 50 Years, 1965-2015

This book charts the birth of IARC during the 1960s - a period of great optimism for international cooperation and medical science. It goes on to describe the Agency's major achievements over the past five decades in terms of the development of tools for conducting cancer research, the identification of risk factors, and the evaluation of preventive interventions.

IARC 50th Anniversary Celebrations

Videos recorded during the celebrations of the 50th anniversary of the establishment of IARC, held at the Hôtel de Ville de Lyon on 15 May 2015.

The Origin of the International Agency for Research on Cancer

This report is an account of the process by which IARC came into being, based on official documents, working papers, and correspondence. It describes the conception, the foundation, and the launch of IARC, including its initial phases of operation, and covers the period from 1963 until 1972.

IARC: 20 years old

This article by Walter Davis appeared in the March 1986 issue of World Health.

IARC History

Le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC) est le fruit d’une initiative lancée par un groupe de personnalités publiques françaises, qui ont réussi à persuader le Président de Gaulle à adopter un projet visant à alléger le fardeau croissant du cancer pour l’humanité. Le projet a rapidement gagné en puissance, et le CIRC a été créé le 20 mai 1965, par une résolution de l'Assemblée mondiale de la Santé, comme l’agence spécialisée de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé pour le cancer. Le bâtiment du siège du Centre lui a été fourni par son pays et sa ville d’accueil à Lyon, en France.

Le CIRC dispose de son propre Conseil de Direction et, fin 1965, les premiers membres en étaient la République fédérale d’Allemagne, les Etats-Unis d’Amérique, la France, l’Italie et le Royaume-Uni. Aujourd’hui, les Etats participants du CIRC sont au nombre de 25.

Le premier Directeur du CIRC était John Higginson (1966-1981), à qui ont succédé Lorenzo Tomatis (1982-1993), Paul Kleihues (1994-2003), Peter Boyle (2004-2008) et Christopher Wild (2009-présent).

Au cours des 50 dernières années, le CIRC a mené des recherches dans le monde entier et a aidé des milliers de chercheurs sur le cancer de pays en développement à perfectionner leurs compétences grâce à des bourses d’études, des cours et des projets en collaboration.


International Agency for Research on Cancer: The First 50 Years, 1965-2015

Ce livre retrace la naissance du CIRC au cours des années 1960 - une période de grand optimisme pour la coopéération internationale et la science médicale. Il décrit ensuite les principales réalisations du Centre au cours des 50 dernières années en termes de développement d'outils pour mener des recherches sur le cancer, l'dentification des facteurs de risque et l'évaluation d'interventions préventives.

Célébrations du cinquantenaire du CIRC

Vidéos enregistrées pendant les célébrations du 50ème anniversaire de la création du CIRC, cérémonie qui a eu lieu à l’Hôtel de Ville de Lyon, le 15 mai 2015.

La Genèse du Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

Ce rapport est un compte rendu du processus par lequel le CIRC a vu le jour, sur la base de documents officiels, de documents de travail et de correspondance. Il décrit la conception, la fondation et le lancement du CIRC, y compris les phases initiales de son démarrage, et couvre la période de 1963 jusqu'en 1972.

IARC: 20 years old

Cet article de Walter Davis est paru dans le numéro de mars 1986 de Santé du Monde.