About IARC

IARC and Staff

Scientific Staff

The scientific work of IARC is organized into research Sections, which themselves are composed of one or more research Groups. The Sections focus on particular areas of cancer research, while often collaborating closely on issues of common interest. Scientific staff include visiting scientists and post-doctoral students in addition to short- and long-term staff members. IARC takes very seriously its role in training the next generation of cancer researchers, and its worldwide perspective is reflected in the development of expertise in people who will return to work in low- to medium-income countries. Many students complete part or all of their studies for higher qualifications at IARC and make valuable contributions to the research programmes before pursuing a cancer research career elsewhere.

IARC currently has around 300 staff coming from more than 50 countries.

Support Staff

The Section of Support to Research supports and facilitates the Agency's scientific activities and manages its budget. For the biennium 2014-2015, the Governing Council granted the Agency a regular budget of €40 424 491. The support services include: Administrative Services; Budget and Finance; Human Resources; Grants Office; and Information Technology, which all play an essential role in the research of the IARC. In addition, the clerical, technical and laboratory expertise embedded within the Sections provides further vital support to the Agency's scientists.

Director

The Director of IARC is elected by, and reports to, IARC's Governing Council. The Director is responsible for the development and implementation of IARC's scientific programme and oversees the day-to-day operation of the Agency. The present Director, Dr Christopher Wild, took up the position on January 1, 2009

A propos du CIRC

Le CIRC et son Personnel 

Le Personnel scientifique

Le travail scientifique du CIRC est organisé en différentes Sections, qui sont elles-mêmes composées d'un ou de plusieurs Groupes de recherche. Les Sections concentrent leurs travaux sur des domaines particuliers de recherche sur le cancer, tout en collaborant étroitement entre elles sur des questions d'intérêt commun. Le personnel scientifique regroupe, outre les membres du personnel à court et à long terme, les chercheurs invités et les post-doctorants. Le CIRC prend très au sérieux son rôle de formation de la prochaine génération de chercheurs sur le cancer, et sa perspective mondiale se reflète dans le développement des compétences de chercheurs qui retourneront travailler dans les pays à revenus faibles et moyens une fois leur formation terminée. Beaucoup d'étudiants poursuivent une partie ou l'ensemble de leurs études, dans le cadre de diplômes supérieurs au CIRC et apportent une contribution précieuse aux programmes de recherche avant de poursuivre ailleurs leur carrière en recherche sur le cancer.

Le CIRC accueille actuellement environ 300 personnes venant de plus de 50 pays différents.

Personnel d'appui

La Section Soutien à la recherche appuie et facilite les activités scientifiques du Centre et gère son budget. Pour l'exercice biennal 2014-2015, le Conseil de Direction du Centre a approuvé un budget ordinaire de 40 424 491€. Les services d'appui comprennent les services administratifs; ceux du budget et des finances, des ressources humaines, le bureau des subventions et les technologies de l'information, qui jouent tous un rôle essentiel dans la recherche du CIRC. Les compétences en matière de secrétariat, de technique et de laboratoire intégrées dans les différentes Sections apportent en outre un soutien vital pour les chercheurs du Centre.

Le Directeur du CIRC

Le Directeur du CIRC est élu par le Conseil de Direction, devant qui il est responsable. Le Directeur est chargé de l’élaboration et de la mise en place du programme scientifique, et supervise les activités quotidiennes du Centre. Le Directeur actuel, le Dr Christopher Wild, a pris ses fonctions le 1er janvier 2009.