PRESS RELEASE
N° 125
June 1998 

Smoking Cuts Breast Cancer Risk In Small Fraction of Women with Mutated Gene.
Scientists Do Not Advocate Smoking, as Risks Outweigh Advantages.


Smoking cuts the risk of developing breast cancer by 50 percent in a tiny fraction of women who carry a genetic pre-disposition for the disease, says a new study published in the Journal of the National Cancer Institute (JNCI).

Only one out of every 250 women has one of the inherited mutated genes, BRCA1 or BRCA2, whose normal function is not yet fully understood. However, 80 percent of women with one of the mutated genes will get breast cancer before the age of 70.

"The protection associated with smoking increased with the amount smoked (among women with the mutated gene)," says the JNCI article, co-authored by all scientists participating in the study. "The risk reduction associated with up to four pack-years (one pack-year equals one pack per day for one year) of smoking was 35 percent, and for greater than four pack-years of smoking was 54 percent."

"This study should not cause women to take up smoking or continue the smoking habit, because the adverse health effects of tobacco are overwhelming," says Paul Kleihues, MD, Director of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), part of the World Health Organization, which participated in the study. "In the United States and in some European countries, as many women die from smoking-induced lung cancer as from breast cancer."

Scientists believe that smoking influences the metabolism of estrogen, a female sex hormone assumed to be involved in the development of breast cancer. The reduction in breast cancer risk by smokers with the mutated gene may be associated with reduced levels of circulating estrogens.

" We believe our data provide evidence of a protective effect of smoking against breast cancer in BRCA1 and BRCA2 carriers, " the article says. " The magnitude of the risk reduction was large and the possibility that this finding was due to chance is remote."

"Our research may lead to the development of medication that reduces breast cancer risk, without any of the many drawbacks of smoking, first for women with the genetic disposition, and perhaps later for all women," says Steven Narod, MD, Chair of Breast Cancer Research at the Centre for Research in Women's Health, Women's College Hospital, Toronto, who coordinated the study.

Breast cancer is the most frequent cancer striking women worldwide. In Western countries, one woman in nine is likely to suffer from the disease. The mutated gene leads to just two percent of all breast cancer cases, however. A variety of risk factors has been identified as influencing the development of breast cancer, including dietary habits, reproductive lifestyle and radiation.

"The findings have to be confirmed in other investigations, " says Dr Kleihues. "The study, however, can lead to a better understanding of how some cancers are formed, and how they can be prevented.

Previous studies have found that smokers are also at a decreased risk of endometrial cancer, another hormone-dependent cancer. But other studies show that women who smoke run a much higher risk for lung cancer.

In the study, entitled "The Effect of Smoking on Breast Cancer in BRCA1 and BRCA2 Carriers", scientists compared 186 women in the United States and Canada who carried one of the mutated genes and who had developed breast cancer with 186 women of the same age who also had the mutated gene, but who had not developed breast cancer -- which is called a "matched case-control study."

Researchers compiled information about the lifetime smoking history of each of the 186 cases in the study from a questionnaire, which was then compared with their 186 age matched healthy controls.

To determine lifetime cigarette exposure, researchers multiplied the duration of smoking by the average daily cigarette consumption reported for the period, using a standardized measure called pack-years. One pack-year equals one package of cigarettes smoked per day for one year.

The average age of diagnosis of breast cancer in the cases participating in the study was 39.6 years. The mean current age for the cases was 49.7 years at the time they took part in the study. The controls had the same mean current age of 49.7.

"Smoking has not been found to be a risk factor for breast cancer in women in the general population, " says Gilbert Lenoir, DVM, of the IARC. Dr Lenoir coordinated one of the centers performing the direct sequencing of DNA of participants, which confirmed the mutation detection initially performed by a range of techniques to discover women with the mutated genes.

The study was supported by the U. S. National Institutes of Health, the Canadian Breast Cancer Research Initiative, the U. S. Department of the Army, the Canadian Genetics Diseases Network, the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (Ontario Chapter), the Fonds de la Recherche en Santé du Québec, and the Women's Cancer Program of the Dana Farber Cancer Institute. The article was published in the May issue of the Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

Because it is possible that the observed effect of smoking could be attributed to the effect of other factors, a "multivariate matched analysis " was performed. Cases and controls were matched to be born within one year of each other. Researchers determined the odds ratio for developing breast cancer for smokers versus non-smokers, using "conditional logistic regression" for matched sets, after adjustment for other known risk factors. Conditional logistic regression is a statistical method of adjusting for other potential factors such as age, reproductive factors, geography. When the adjustment was made, researchers still got the same answer -- the risk of breast cancer in smokers remained roughly one-half of that of non-smokers. No other variable was as important as smoking in predicting breast cancer risk.

Hereditary breast cancer is primarily a disease of pre-menopausal women, and interactions between genes, hormonal and environmental risk factors may be particularly important to these people. The age-specific incidence of breast cancer in BRCA1 carriers peaks at about age 45, in contrast to non-carriers, for whom the risk continues to rise after menopause. It is possible that this pattern of onset is explained by an interaction between ovarian hormones and genetic predisposition.

Released from Washington, D.C. (USA) - For further information, please contact:
Marshall Hoffman at +1 (703) 820-2244 (bus.) - +1 (703) 533-8482 (home)
Paul Kleihues, M.D., Director of the International Agency for Research on Cancer, and
Dr Gilbert Lenoir, will be available for phone interviews. Please call +1 (703) 820-2244.



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 125
juin 1998

Fumer réduit le risque de cancer du sein chez un petit nombre de femmes dont un gène est muté.
Les chercheurs ne recommandent pas de fumer, les risques dépassant les avantages.

La fumée du tabac réduit le risque de cancer du sein de 50% chez un tout petit nombre de femmes génétiquement prédisposées à la maladie, selon une nouvelle étude publiée par le Journal of the National Cancer Institute (JNCI) américain.

Seule une femme sur 250 porte l'un des gènes hérités mutés, le BRCA1 ou le BRCA2, dont la fonction normale n'est pas encore entièrement élucidée, mais 80% des femmes porteuses de l'un de ces gènes mutés sera atteinte d'un cancer du sein avant l'âge de 70 ans.

"La protection associée au tabagisme augmentait avec la quantité de tabac fumée (chez les femmes porteuses du gène muté)" selon l'article du JNCI, cosigné par tous les chercheurs participant à l'étude. "La réduction du risque associée à une consommation allant jusqu'à quatre paquets-année (un paquet-année équivaut à la consommation d'un paquet de cigarettes par jour pendant un an) était de 35%, et de 54% pour une consommation supérieure."

"Cette étude ne doit pas pousser les femmes à commencer ou à continuer à fumer, les effets nocifs du tabac étant dévastateurs", selon le Dr Paul Kleihues, Directeur du Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC), qui fait partie de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé, et qui participait à l'étude. "Aux Etats-Unis et dans certains pays européens, autant de femmes meurent d'un cancer du poumon imputable au tabagisme que de cancer du sein".

Les chercheurs pensent que le tabagisme influence le métabolisme des Ïstrogènes, une hormone sexuelle féminine dont on pense qu'elle intervient dans le développement du cancer du sein. La réduction du risque de cancer du sein chez les fumeuses ayant un gène muté peut être associée à des niveaux moins élevés d'Ïstrogènes circulants.

"Nous pensons que nos données donnent une indication d'un effet protecteur du tabagisme vis-à-vis du cancer du sein chez les porteuses du BRCA1 et du BRCA2", affirme l'article, qui ajoute : "L'ampleur de la réduction du risque était importante et la possibilité que ces résultats soient le fruit du hasard est tout à fait improbable".

"Nos recherches peuvent mener au développement de médicaments qui réduisent le risque de cancer du sein, sans aucun des inconvénients que comporte le tabagisme, tout d'abord pour les femmes génétiquement prédisposées, et peut-être plus tard pour toutes les femmes", déclare le Dr Steven Narod, Président du Centre de Recherche sur le Cancer du sein au Centre de Recherche sur la Santé des Femmes, au Women's College Hospital à Toronto, qui coordonnait l'étude.

Le cancer du sein est le cancer féminin le plus fréquent dans le monde. Dans les pays occidentaux, une femme sur neuf est susceptible de faire la maladie. Cependant, le gène muté n'est responsable que de 2% de tous les cas de cancer du sein. Un certain nombre de facteurs de risque ont été identifiés comme influençant le développement du cancer du sein, y compris les habitudes alimentaires, le mode de vie reproducteur et l'exposition aux rayonnements.

"Ces résultats doivent être confirmés dans d'autres enquêtes", selon le Dr Kleihues. "Cette étude peut cependant nous permettre de mieux comprendre comment certains cancers se forment et comment on peut les prévenir."

Des études antérieures ont montré que les fumeuses ont également un risque plus faible de cancer de l'endomètre, un autre cancer hormono-dépendant. Mais d'autres études montrent que les femmes qui fument courent un risque beaucoup plus élevé de cancer du poumon.

Dans l'étude en question, intitulée "The Effect of Smoking on Breast Cancer in BRCA1 and BRCA2 Carriers', les chercheurs ont comparé 186 femmes, aux Etats-Unis et au Canada, qui portaient l'un des gènes mutés et qui étaient atteintes de cancer du sein, à 186 autres femmes du même âge porteuses du même gène muté, mais n'ayant pas fait de cancer du sein, un type d'étude appelé "étude sur cas-témoins appariés".

Les chercheurs ont compilé les informations portant sur l'histoire de tabagisme sur la vie entière de chacun des 186 cas de l'étude à partir d'un questionnaire, qui ont ensuite été comparées aux données concernant les 186 témoins sains appariés.

Pour déterminer l'exposition à la cigarette sur la vie entière, la durée du tabagisme a été multipliée par la consommation quotidienne moyenne de cigarettes indiquée pour la période, à l'aide d'une mesure normalisée appelée paquet(s)-année. Un paquet-année correspond à un paquet de cigarettes fumé par jour pendant un an.

L'âge moyen au diagnostic du cancer du sein chez les malades participant à l'étude était de 39,6 ans. L'âge moyen des cas était de 49,7 ans au moment où ils ont pris part à l'étude. Les témoins avaient le même âge moyen de 49,7 ans.

"Le tabagisme n'a pas été identifié comme facteur de risque de cancer du sein chez les femmes de la population générale", selon le Dr Gilbert Lenoir du CIRC. Le Dr Lenoir coordonnait l'un des centres effectuant le séquençage direct de l'ADN des participantes, qui confirmait la détection des mutations initialement effectuées par un certain nombre de techniques pour identifier les femmes affectées par des gènes mutés.

Cette étude a bénéficié du soutien des US National Institutes of Health, de la Canadian Breast Cancer Research Initiative, du US Department of the Army, du Canadian Genetics Diseases Network, du Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (Chapitre de l'Ontario), du Fonds de la Recherche en santé du Québec et du Women's Cancer Program du Dana Farber Cancer Institute. L'article paraît dans le numéro du mois de mai du Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

Puisqu'il est possible que l'effet observé du tabagisme puisse être attribué à d'autres facteurs, une "analyse appariée à variables multiples" a été réalisée. Les cas étaient appariés aux témoins selon qu'ils étaient nés à moins d'un an d'intervalle. Les chercheurs ont déterminé le risque relatif approché (odds ratio) de développer un cancer du sein pour les fumeuses par rapport aux non-fumeuses à l'aide d'une "régression logistique conditionnelle" pour les ensembles appariés, après correction pour d'autres facteurs de risque connus. La régression logistique conditionnelle est une méthode statistique de correction pour d'autres facteurs potentiels comme l'âge, les facteurs reproductifs, ou la géographie. Correction faite, les chercheurs obtenaient toujours la même réponse : le risque de cancer du sein chez les fumeuses était approximativement deux fois moins élevé que chez les non-fumeuses. Aucune autre variable n'était aussi importante que le tabagisme pour prédire le risque de cancer du sein.

Le cancer du sein héréditaire est tout d'abord une maladie des femmes en préménopause, et les interactions entre les gènes, les facteurs de risque hormonaux et environnementaux peuvent être particulièrement importants pour ces personnes. L'incidence du cancer du sein par âge, chez les porteuses du BRCA1, atteint un pic vers l'âge de 45 ans, par contraste avec les non-porteuses, pour qui le risque continue d'augmenter après la ménopause. Il est possible que ce type de démarrage du développement tumoral s'explique par une interaction entre les hormones ovariennes et la prédisposition génétique.

 

Diffusé depuis Washington D.C. (USA). Pour plus d'informations, contacter :

Marshall Hoffman au + 1 (703) 820-2244 (bur.) - + 1 (703) 533-8482 (dom)
Le Dr Paul Kleihues, Directeur du Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer et le Dr Gilbert Lenoir sont à disposition pour des entretiens téléphoniques. Appeler +1 (703) 820-2244.




World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr