PRESS RELEASE
N° 129
22 September 2009 

CANCER SURVIVAL IN EUROPE

A European effort to monitor the impact of cancer in Europe
The EUROCARE project involves 45 European cancer registries in 17 countries. The aim is to estimate and compare survival of cancer patients in European populations and to identify the reasons for geographical differences and time trends. It is funded by the Biomed programme of the European Union

Improved survival since 1985
This study is published today by the International Agency for Research on Cancer and analyses the most recent available data concerning patients diagnosed between 1985 and 1989 in 17 European countries and followed up until 1994. Compared with the results for patients diagnosed between 1978 and 1985, the five-year survival rate increased from 40 to 50% for colorectal cancer, from 69 to 77% for melanoma, from 68 to 75% for breast cancer, from 80 to 92% for testicular cancer, from 64 to 72% for Hodgkin's disease, and from 44 to 54% for non-Hodgkin's lymphomas. Cancer, however, still includes highly lethal diseases: survival is still uniformly low across Europe for several common cancer sites, such as lung, pancreas and oesophagus, for which five-year survival is less than 10%. For these, practically no significant improvement in survival was seen.

Almost half of all cancer patients are still alive five years after diagnosis
Overall in Europe, 43% of patients diagnosed in the late 80's with any cancer (excluding non-melanoma skin cancer) survived at least five years after diagnosis (35% for male patients and 50% for females). For most cancers, however, five-year survival does not mean cure: even 10 years after diagnosis, there is still some excess mortality due to cancer. One may speculate, nevertheless, that today more than one third of European patients are cured of their cancer.

Geographic variations
In general, survival is markedly lower in eastern European countries than in western Europe. One of the major results of EUROCARE, however, is that in western Europe, too, there is still room for improvement. For many cancer sites, especially those for which early diagnosis is a major determinant of favourable prognosis, survival was higher in northern countries (Finland, Iceland, Sweden), intermediate in continental Europe (Austria, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Spain and Switzerland), and lower in Denmark and the UK. The highest survival rates were usually recorded in Iceland, Sweden (South Sweden cancer registry), Switzerland (Geneva and Basel cancer registries) or The Netherlands (Eindhoven cancer registry). The survival of patients with melanoma was higher in Nordic countries and the UK than in southern European countries.

With a few exceptions, survival increased in all these countries but this pattern of differences persisted. By 1989, the survival differences between continental and northern European countries were diminishing for colorectal and breast cancer, melanoma of the skin and Hodgkin's disease.

Survival for Hodgkin's disease and testicular cancer, that respond to medical treatment, was rather similar across western European countries.

Better survival correlates with socio-economic conditions
Comparison of the geographical variation with demographic, sociological and health economic indicators shows that in general, cancer patients' survival is higher where overall life-expectancy is higher. Significant factors associated with a favorable prognosis include: proportion of Gross National Product spent on health, level of employment, number of hospital beds and number of CT scanners per million population. Within Western Europe, such factors appear to be responsible for over 70% of the intercountry variability of survival for prostate cancer, 65% for breast, 60% for rectum and 50% for stomach cancer. A sizable fraction of within-country differences is also likely to be due to socio-economic differences, as has been shown for the UK.

Age and sex major determinants for survival
Other major determinants of survival include age (survival is inversely related to age at diagnosis for practically all tumours in all countries) and sex: for most tumours women survive longer than men, and this difference is more marked in younger age groups.

Interpretation caveat
The reasons for survival differences between countries, between socio-demographic groups and over time, however, are complex. Improved survival may be due to greater awareness in the population, earlier diagnosis, or more effective treatment. In its next phase, the EUROCARE project is focusing on determining the extent to which differences and improvements in survival are the result of better treatment, and to what extent the improved effectiveness of treatment is due to earlier diagnosis. This will help health authorities to make informed decisions regarding the most effective investment of resources.
Survival of Cancer Patients in Europe : The EUROCARE-2 Study, Eds : F. Berrino, R. Capocaccia, J. Estève, G. Gatta, T. Hakulinen, A. Micheli, M. Sant and A. Verdecchia, IARC Scientific Publications No.151, 1999 ; 550 pages. ISBN 92 832 2151 6, US$ 68. To order, contact IARCPress, address below, or E-mail at

For further information please contact Dr Franco Berrino, Tel: +39 02 70 60 1853
or Dr Nicolas Gaudin, Chief, IARC Communications ( )



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 129
24 septembre 1999 

SURVIE DES CANCEREUX EN EUROPE

Un projet européen de surveillance de l'impact du cancer en Europe

Le projet EUROCARE rassemble 45 registres du cancer européens, répartis dans 17 pays. Son but est d'évaluer et de comparer la survie des cancéreux dans les populations européennes, et d'expliquer les différences géographiques et les tendances chronologiques de cette situation. Le projet est financé par le programme Biomed de l'Union européenne.

Survie améliorée depuis 1985

L’étude publiée aujourd'hui par le CIRC analyse les données disponibles les plus récentes concernant les malades diagnostiqués entre 1985 et 1989 dans 17 pays européens, et suivis jusqu'en 1994. Par rapport aux malades diagnostiqués entre 1978 et 1985, le taux de survie à cinq ans a augmenté de 40 à 50% pour le cancer du côlon/rectum, de 69 à 77% pour le mélanome, de 68 à 75% pour le cancer du sein, de 80 à 92% pour le cancer du testicule, de 64 à 72% pour la maladie de Hodgkin et de 44 à 54% pour les lymphomes non hodgkiniens. Mais certains cancers sont toujours des maladies hautement mortelles : la survie est toujours aussi uniformément faible pour plusieurs localisations fréquentes comme le poumon, le pancréas et l'œsophage, pour lesquelles la survie à cinq ans est inférieure à 10%. Pour ces maladies là, aucune amélioration significative de la survie n’a été notée.

Près de la moitié de tous les cancéreux sont encore en vie cinq ans après diagnostic

Globalement en Europe, 43% des malades chez qui on a diagnostiqué un cancer à la fin des années 80 (hormis un cancer cutané non mélanome) étaient encore en vie cinq ans après diagnostic (35% des hommes et 50% des femmes). Mais pour la plupart des cancers, la survie à cinq ans n'est pas synonyme de guérison : même 10 ans après diagnostic, on constate encore un excès de mortalité dû au cancer. On peut néanmoins avancer qu'aujourd'hui, plus d'un tiers des cancéreux européens guérissent de leur cancer.

Variations géographiques

En général, la survie est beaucoup plus faible dans les pays d'Europe orientale qu'en Europe occidentale. Un des résultats les plus marquants du projet est cependant qu'en Europe occidentale on peut aussi faire encore des progrès. Pour de nombreux cancers, notamment lorsque le diagnostic précoce est un déterminant majeur de pronostic favorable, la survie était supérieure dans les pays du nord (Finlande, Islande, Suède), moyenne en Europe continentale (Allemagne, Autriche, Espagne, France, Italie, Pays-Bas et Suisse) et plus faible au Danemark et au Royaume-Uni. Les taux de survie les plus élevés ont le plus souvent été enregistrés en Islande, en Suède (registre du cancer de Suède méri-dionale), en Suisse (registres de Genève et de Bâle) ou aux Pays-Bas (registre d'Eindhoven). La survie des malades souffrant de mélanome était plus élevée dans les pays scandinaves et au Royaume-Uni que dans les pays d'Europe méridionale.

A quelques exceptions près, la survie a augmenté dans tous ces pays, mais les variations indiquées ci-dessus semblent persister. En 1989, les différences de survie entre pays d'Europe continentale et d'Europe du nord s'estompaient pour les cancers du côlon/rectum et du sein, le mélanome cutané et la maladie de Hodgkin. La survie pour la maladie de Hodgkin et le cancer du testicule, qui répondent bien au traitement médical, était assez semblable dans tous les pays d'Europe occidentale.

La survie liée aux conditions socio-économiques

La comparaison entre les variations géographiques et les indicateurs démographiques, sociologiques et sanitaires montre qu'en général, la survie des cancéreux est plus élevée là où l'espérance de vie globale est plus grande. Les facteurs les plus significatifs qu'on associe à un pronostic favorable sont la part du PNB consacrée à la santé, la situation de l'emploi, et le nombre de lits d'hôpitaux et de scanners par million d’habitants. En Europe occidentale, ces facteurs semblent être responsables de plus de 70% des variations interpays de la survie pour le cancer de la prostate, 65% pour le cancer du sein, 60% pour le cancer du rectum et de 50% pour le cancer de l'estomac. Une part non négligeable des différences à l'intérieur même des pays vient probablement aussi de différences socio-économiques, comme cela a été montré au Royaume-Uni.

L'âge et le sexe sont des déterminants importants de la survie

L’âge et le sexe sont les autres déterminants principaux de la survie : la survie est inversement proportionnelle à l'âge au diagnostic pour pratiquement toutes les tumeurs dans tous les pays et, pour la plupart des tumeurs, les femmes survivent plus longtemps que les hommes, cette différence étant plus marquée dans les groupes d'âge les plus jeunes.

Prudence de l'interprétation

Les raisons expliquant les différences de la survie entre les pays, entre les différents groupes socio-démographiques et dans le temps sont toutefois complexes. Une meilleure survie peut être due à une meilleure prise de conscience de la population, à un diagnostic plus précoce ou à un traitement plus efficace. Dans sa prochaine phase d'activité, le projet EUROCARE s'attachera à déterminer la mesure dans laquelle les différences et les progrès de la survie sont dus à un meilleur traitement, et dans quelle mesure l'efficacité accrue du traitement résulte d'un diagnostic plus précoce. Ces recherches aideront les autorités sanitaires à prendre des mesures en toute connaissance de cause en ce qui concerne les investissements de ressources les plus efficaces.

Survival of Cancer Patients in Europe : The EUROCARE-2 Study, Eds : F. Berrino, R. Capocaccia, J. Estève, G. Gatta, T. Hakulinen, A. Micheli, M. Sant and A. Verdecchia, IARC Scientific Publications No.151, 1999 ; 550 pages. ISBN 92 832 2151 6, US$ 68. Commandes à IARCPress, adresse ci-dessous, ou mél à :

Pour plus d'information, contacter Nicolas Gaudin, IARC Communications ()
ou le Dr Franco Berrino, Tel: +39 02 70 60 1853



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr