PRESS RELEASE
N° 130
24 September 1999 

BILL GATES TO FUND CERVICAL CANCER PREVENTION IN DEVELOPING COUNTRIES

Smoking cuts the risk of developing breast cancer by 50 percent in a tiny fraction of women who carry a genetic pre-disposition for the disease, says a new study published in the Journal of the National Cancer Institute (JNCI).

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation announced that it will donate US $ 50 million funding for a major international initiative to boost prevention and early detection of cervix cancer in low-resource, high prevalence countries.

The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), the cancer research branch of the World Health Organization, is a member of the "Alliance for Cervical Cancer Prevention" (ACCP). Together with its partners [AVSC International, the JHPIEGO Corporation, The Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO) and the Program for Appropriate Technology in Health (PATH)], they will investigate different early detection approaches for their effectiveness in preventing cervical cancer and the feasibility of implemention in low-resource countries.

Cervix cancer a major killer

Globally, cervix cancer affects 450,000 women and kills around 230,000 each year, the vast majority of whom live in developing countries. These countries are hampered by limited capabilities to implement conventional cervical cancer screening programmes by Pap smears every 2-5 years.

Monitoring and evaluating screening methods

The screening methods considered for evaluation by IARC and their partners are:

  • Visual examination of the cervix after applying 4-5% vinegar solution (Visual inspection with acetic acid, or VIA): well demarcated, dense white patches on the cervix following the application of vinegar indicate the presence of precancerous changes that may become invasive cervical cancer later;

  • Pap test: high quality cytology tests to identify women with precancerous conditions in the cervix (this is the test mainly used in developed countries); and

  • Testing for the presence of certain types of Human Papillomavirus (HPV) that may cause cervical cancer in the long run in some infected women. There is increasing evidence that cervical cancer cannot develop in the absence of persistent HPV infection.

"We're particularly happy that people like Bill and Melinda Gates are willing to invest in this scientific program as they have done in the past in other areas, but also in a program whose objective is the improvement of women’s health in impoverished countries around the world", says Dr. Rengaswamy Sankaranarayanan, staff scientist at the IARC in Lyon, and co-author of the proposal.

These studies will involve a total of 120,000 women in Barshi (Central India) and Ambillikai (Southern India), which are economically backward rural areas in India. "We plan to provide VIA for 60,000 women, Pap tests for 30,000 women and HPV tests for 30,000 women. Today, the occurrence of cervix cancer in these two areas is high, and the comparative efficacy of the above approaches in preventing cervical cancers will be evident in these populations within a few years of the implementation of screening programmes", Sankaranarayanan said.

The collaborating institutions in India are the Nargis Dutt Memorial Cancer Hospital in Barshi, the Tata Memorial Centre, Mumbai, the Christian Fellowship Community Health Centre in Ambillikai, the Chittaranjan National Cancer Institute, Calcutta and the Regional Cancer Centre, Trivandrum. In Africa, the collaborating institution is the School of Medicine of the University of Ibadan (Nigeria).

« When completed in five years, this study should provide a clear indication of the most promising and cost-effective means of preventing at least 100,000 deaths from invasive cervical cancer in the world annually » added Dr Paul Kleihues, Director of the IARC.

An international effort to collect cancer data globally

"We also plan to work with a world-wide network of cancer information systems to help in the collection of data on occurrence of and survival from cervical cancer by developing and distributing a user friendly software called ‘CANREG-4’. This will help to create a global cervical cancer database on a continuing basis, to evaluate screening and prevention of cervical cancer by tracking the occurrence, stage distribution, and survival", Dr Max Parkin, Chief, Descriptive Epidemiology Unit at IARC, added. "New collaborations will be established in regions where currently there is no available information. A software to help in the management and evaluation of cervical cancer screening programmes will also be developed thanks to this important funding.

Training an active component of the Alliance initiative

In collaboration with other Alliance partners, IARC will organise ‘international schools of diagnosis and treatment of cervical precancers’ to train ‘master trainers’ in different countries in colposcopy, cytology/pathology, and treatment of precursor lesions. Very limited expertise on diagnosis and management of cervical precancers exists in many high-risk countries. A multi-regional core faculty will be identified to conduct the training. Three schools will be organized, one each in Asia, Africa and Latin America. Training of these ‘master trainers’ from different countries will be made possible through fellowships, and active technical support will be provided to establish national training facilities in different countries.

An emphasis on research

The International Agency for Research on Cancer is committed to conducting research into the causes of cancer and cancer prevention, and co-ordinates a number of international efforts in this domain.

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation places a major focus on helping to improve people’s lives through health and learning. Led by William H. Gates, Sr. and Patty Stonesifer, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation is located in Seattle (Wash., USA). Significant Foundation projects include: the Bill and Melinda Gates Children’s Vaccine Program, a $100 million commitment to speed the delivery of lifesaving vaccines to children in developing countries; the Maternal Mortality Reduction Program, a $50 million commitment to prevent pregnancy-related deaths of women in developing countries; and the Gates Millennium Scholars program, a $50 million annual commitment for 20 years to provide financial assistance to high-achieving minority students who are in severe financial need and would otherwise be excluded from higher education.

For further information please contact Dr Nicolas Gaudin, Chief, IARC Communications ( )



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 130
22 septembre 2004 

BILL GATES VA FINANCER LA PREVENTION DU CANCER DU COL DANS LES PAYS EN DEVELOPPEMENT

La Fondation Bill & Melinda Gates a annoncé qu’elle va financer une initiative internationale pour le dépistage et la détection précoce du cancer du col utérin dans les pays pauvres où la prévalence de cette maladie est élevée, pour un montant de 50 millions de dollars.

Le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC), organe de recherche sur le cancer de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé, est membre de « l’Alliance pour la prévention du cancer du col utérin ». Avec ses partenaires (AVSC International, la JHPIEGO Corporation, l’Organisation panaméricaine de la Santé et le Program for Appropriate Technology in Health), il va étudier différentes stratégies de détection précoce du cancer du col, pour tester leur efficacité dans la prévention de cette maladie et la faisabilité de leur mise en œuvre dans des pays aux ressources limitées.

Le cancer du col est dévastateur

Dans le monde, le cancer du col utérin touche 450 000 femmes et en tue 230 000 chaque année, dont la grande majorité dans les PVD. Ces pays sont handicapés par une capacité limitée à mettre en œuvre des programmes de dépistage conventionnels par frottis tous les 2 à 5 ans comme dans les pays occidentaux développés.

Surveiller et évaluer les méthodes de dépistage

Les méthodes de dépistage évaluées par le CIRC et ses partenaires seront les suivantes :

  • Examen visuel du col utérin après application d’une solution vinaigrée à 4-5% (inspection visuelle à l’acide acétique) : l’observation de taches blanches, denses et bien délimitées, sur le col utérin après application de vinaigre indique la présence de changements précancéreux qui peuvent ultérieurement évoluer vers un cancer invasif;
  • Frottis : des tests cytologiques de grande qualité permettant d’identifier les femmes porteuses de lésions précancéreuses du col de l’utérus (il s’agit du test principalement utilisé dans les pays développés) ; et
  • Recherche de la présence de certains types de virus du papillome humain (VPH) qui peuvent à longue échéance provoquer un cancer du col chez certaines femmes infectées. On dispose de plus en plus d’indications selon lesquelles le cancer du col ne peut se développer en l’absence d’infection persistante par le VPH.

« Nous sommes très heureux que Bill et Melinda Gates investissent dans ce programme scientifique, comme ils l’ont fait dans d’autres domaines par le passé, mais plus particulièrement dans un projet dont l’objectif est l’amélioration de la santé des femmes dans les pays pauvres de la planète », se réjouit Rengaswamy Sankaranarayanan, chercheur au CIRC, à Lyon, et co-auteur du projet.

Ces études concerneront 120 000 femmes au total, à Barsi (Inde centrale) et à Ambillikai (Inde méridionale), des régions rurales économiquement en retard. «L’objectif est d’offrir une inspection visuelle après application d’acide acétique à 60 000 femmes, un frottis à 30 000 femmes et un test VPH à 30 000 autres femmes. Aujourd’hui, l’incidence de ce cancer est élevée dans ces régions, et l’on pourra mettre en évidence l’efficacité relative de ces différentes méthodes à prévenir la survenue des cancers au bout de quelques années d’application des programmes de dépistage», ajoute le Dr Sankaranarayanan.

Les institutions collaboratrices en Inde sont le Nargis Dutt Memorial Cancer Hospital à Barsi, le Tata Memorial Centre à Mombai, le Christian Fellowship Community Health Centre à Ambillikai, le Chittaranjan National Cancer Institute à Calcutta et le Regional Cancer Centre à Trivandrum. En Afrique, l’institution collaboratrice est la Faculté de médecine de l’Université d’Ibadan (Nigeria).

"Lorsqu’elle sera terminée, d’ici cinq ans, cette étude montrera clairement quel est le moyen le plus prometteur et du meilleur rapport coût-efficacité qui permettra de prévenir 100 000 décès par cancer invasif du col dans le monde chaque année", précise le Dr Paul Kleihues, Directeur du CIRC.

Un effort international pour recueillir des données à l’échelle mondiale

« Nous pensons aussi travailler avec un réseau mondial de systèmes d’information sur le cancer, pour recueillir des données sur l’incidence de la maladie et la survie des malades en mettant au point et en distribuant un logiciel convivial baptisé CANREG-4. Il aidera à la création d’une base de données mondiale permanente sur le cancer du col, pour évaluer le dépistage et la prévention du cancer du col en suivant l’incidence, la répartition par stade d’évolution et la survie », a ajouté le Dr Max Parkin, Chef de l’Unité d’Epidémiologie descriptive au CIRC. « Nous établirons de nouvelles collaborations dans des régions où l’on ne dispose pas aujourd’hui d’information. Ce financement important permettra en outre de développer un logiciel qui permettra de gérer et d’évaluer l’impact des programmes de dépistage ».

La formation, une composante active de l’initiative de l’Alliance

En collaboration avec les autres partenaires de l’Alliance, le CIRC organisera des « écoles internationales de diagnostic et de traitement des précancers du col » pour former des formateurs aux techniques de colposcopie, de cytologie/pathologie, et au traitement des lésions précurseurs dans différents pays. Les compétences en matière de diagnostic ou de prise en charge sont très faibles dans de nombreux pays à haut risque. Un groupe multi-régional de formateurs sera constitué pour animer cette formation. Trois écoles seront créées : une en Asie, une en Afrique et une en Amérique latine. La formation de ces formateurs de différents pays sera rendue possible grâce à des bourses, et un soutien technique actif sera fourni pour mettre sur pied des installations de formation à l’échelon national.

L'accent placé sur la recherche

Le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer a pour vocation de mener des recherches sur les causes et sur la prévention du cancer, et il coordonne un certain nombre d’initiatives dans ce domaine à l’échelle internationale.

La Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

L’objectif central de la Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation est le développement humain par la santé et l’éducation. Dirigée par William H. Gates, Sr et Patty Stonesifer, la Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation a son siège à Seattle (Wash., Etats-Unis). Elle finance d’importants projets, comme, entre autres, le Bill and Melinda Gates Children’s Vaccine Program, un projet de 100 millions de dollars dont le but est d’accélérer la fourniture de vaccins vitaux aux enfants dans les pays en développement; le Maternal Mortality Reduction Program, un projet de 50 millions de dollars visant à prévenir la mortalité féminine liée à la grossesse dans les pays en développement ; et le Gates Millenium Scholars Program, un projet annuel de 50 millions de dollars offrant une aide financière aux étudiants issus de minorités ethniques et financièrement très défavorisés les plus brillants, qui n’auraient autrement pas accès à l’enseignement supérieur.

Pour plus d'information, contacter Nicolas Gaudin, IARC Communications ()



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr