PRESS RELEASE
N° 135
20 June 2001 

NUTRITION AND CANCER: FIRST RESULTS OF THE EPIC STUDY

A number of estimations agree that in the economically developed world, roughly 30% of all cancers are associated with nutritional factors and therefore theoretically could be avoided by a better dietary balance, the prevention of overweight and adequate physical activity.

The European Conference on Nutrition and Cancer that will open tomorrow Thursday 21 June in Lyon, France, will allow several hundred researchers to exchange views and results of on-going studies on nutrition, metabolic balance and certain types of cancer. Already, a number of preliminary results from the European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition (EPIC)1 , which will be discussed starting tomorrow, are being disclosed concerning three groups of foods (fruits and vegetables, alcohol and animal products).

1- The protective effect of fruits and vegetables
The EPIC study confirms the reduction in incidence of cancers of the colon and rectum and upper aerodigestive tract associated with these. However, the protective effect previously found for stomach and lung cancers does not clearly come out : one should note that the follow-up period is relatively short, just as the number of cancer cases that occurred during that period.

2- The disastrous effects of alcohol and tobacco
The EPIC results confirm, in addition to the obvious effect of tobacco on lung cancer risk, the very strong effect of the consumption of alcohol and tobacco on cancers of the upper aerodigestive tract. For example, the risk for one of these cancers for someone who smokes over a pack per day is 8 times higher than that of a non-smoker.
As far as alcohol is concerned, an intake higher than 60g of ethanol per day (roughly a consumption of a standard .75 liter bottle of wine) will increase the risk of one of these cancers 9 times. One should emphasize the fact that the combination of these will have a multiplier effect which will increase the risk of our smoker-drinker 50 times !
This precisely confirms the results obtained by an IARC team fifteen years ago on the cancers of the larynx, pharynx and esophagus in Southern European countries.


The protective effect of the consumption of fruits and vegetables was also quantified. A daily consumption of approximately 500g or more is sufficient to decrease by 50% the incidence of cancers of the upper aerodigestive tract.

3- Contrasting results for preserved meats and red meats, and protective effect of fish
As far as meat, fish and dairy products (animal products), the analyses focused on cancers of the colon, rectum, stomach and upper aerodigestive tract. The associations that clearly came out of these were an increase of the colon cancer risk with total consumption of preserved meats and a significant reduction of the same risk with fish consumption.
On the other hand, it is clear that consumption of red meat does not seem for the time being to be associated with the risk of developing colon/rectum cancer. However, these analyses have not yet taken into account the method used for cooking. This important question will be carefully analysed at a later stage.

Consumption of poultry is not associated with an increase in cancer risk and is in fact possibly associated with a reduction of that risk.
There was a positive association between total consumption of meat and cancers of the stomach and of the upper aerodigestive tract ; however, this association is weak and non significant and will be studied further.

From a larger preventive perspective, for the general public, the multifactor aspect of the incidence of diet-related cancers should be stressed, along with the importance of physical activity and prevention of obesity.

These, in a nutshell, are the first significant results of this landmark study that will be discussed over the next few days here in Lyon.


1 EPIC is the largest epidemiological study ever conducted on the relationship between diet and cancer, with over 500,000 subjects in 10 European countries. This prospective study aims at elucidating the cause-effect relationships between dietary balance, anthropometric measurements, physical activity and hormonal factors as well as genetic susceptibility factors, and specific types of cancer.

For more information, and to download the abstracts of the papers presented, visit the Conference Website at http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1046/j.1467-3010.2001.00169.x/full,
or contact Dr Nicolas Gaudin, Chief, IARC Communications ( )



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 135
20 juin 2001 

NUTRITION ET CANCER : PREMIERS RESULTATS DE L'ETUDE EPIC

Différentes estimations s’accordent à dire que dans les pays économiquement développés, 30% des cancers sont liés à des facteurs nutritionnels et pourraient donc théoriquement être prévenus par un meilleur équilibre alimentaire, une prévention de l’excès de poids et une activité physique appropriée.

La Conférence européenne « Nutrition et Cancer » qui ouvre ses portes demain jeudi 21 juin 2001 à Lyon va permettre à un grand nombre de chercheurs de faire le point sur les études en cours sur la nutrition, l’équilibre métabolique et certains types de cancer. On connait d’ores et déjà un certain nombre de résultats préliminaires qui seront discutés lors des débats, des résultats provenant de l'étude prospective européenne sur le cancer et la nutrition (EPIC)1 qui concerne trois familles d’aliments (les fruits et légumes, l’alcool et les produits d’origine animale).

1- L’effet protecteur des fruits et des légumes
L’étude EPIC retrouve et confirme une réduction de l’incidence des cancers du côlon et du rectum et des cancers des voies aérodigestives supérieures. En revanche, l’effet protecteur trouvé auparavant pour les cancers de l’estomac et du poumon ne ressort pas clairement : il faut noter que la durée de suivi des sujets est relativement faible, de même que le nombre de cas de cancer survenus au cours de cette période.

2- L’effet dévastateur de l’alcool et du tabac
Les résultats d’EPIC confirment, outre l’effet évident du tabac sur le risque de cancer du poumon, le très fort effet de la consommation d’alcool et de tabac sur les cancers des voies aérodigestives supérieures. Pour donner quelques chiffres, un consommateur de plus d’un paquet de cigarettes par jour voit son risque de contracter un de ces cancers multiplié par plus de 8.
Pour ce qui est de l’alcool, une consommation supérieure à 60g d’éthanol par jour (approximativement une bouteille de vin de 75 cl), fera augmenter le risque d’un de ces cancers d’un facteur 9. Il faut insister sur le fait que la combinaison de ces deux consommations aura un effet multiplicateur qui fait que le fumeur et buveur de notre exemple verra son risque d’un de ces cancers multiplié par 50 !
Ceci confirme exactement les résultats obtenus par une équipe du CIRC il y a plus de quinze ans sur les cancers du larynx et de l’œsophage dans les pays d’Europe méridionale.


L’effet protecteur de la consommation de fruits et de légumes a également fait l’objet d’une quantification. On estime qu’une consommation quotidienne de 500g ou plus de fruits et légumes est suffisante pour réduire de 50% l’incidence des cancers des voies aérodigestives supérieures.

3- Effet contrasté pour les charcuteries et les viandes rouges, et protecteur pour le poisson
Pour ce qui concerne le groupe alimentaire des viandes, poissons et produits laitiers (produits d’origine animale), les analyses concernaient tout particulièrement les cancers du côlon et du rectum, de l’estomac et des voies aérodigestives supérieures. Les associations qui ressortent le plus nettement sont une augmentation du risque de cancer du côlon par rapport à la consommation totale de charcuterie (salaisons) et une réduction significative du risque de ce cancer par rapport à la consommation de poisson.

Il ressort très nettement en revanche que la consommation de viande rouge n’apparaît pas pour le moment associée au risque de développer un cancer du côlon et du rectum. Toutefois, ces analyses n’ont pas pu encore prendre en compte la méthode de cuisson des viandes. Cette importante question fera l’objet d’analyses minutieuses à l’avenir.

La consommation de volailles n’est pas associée à une augmentation du risque de cancer et est possiblement associée à une faible réduction de ce risque.

On a noté une association positive entre la consommation totale de viande et le cancer de l’estomac et des voies aérodigestives supérieures ; toutefois, cette association est faible et non significative et fera l’objet d’analyses ultérieures.

Pour ce qui concerne le volet préventif, il faudra insister auprès de la population en général sur le côté plurifactoriel de l’incidence des cancers dans ses rapports à l’alimentation, et l’importance de l’activité physique et la prévention de l’obésité.

Voilà les grandes lignes des premiers résultats de cette importante étude, qui seront développées au cours des prochains jours.


1 EPIC est la plus grande étude jamais menée sur les rapports entre l'alimentation et le cancer, représentant un échantillon de plus de 500 000 sujets répartis dans 10 pays européens. Cette étude prospective a pour objectif de mettre en évidence les liens de cause à effet entre l'équilibre alimentaire, les données anthropométriques, l'activité physique et les facteurs hormonaux ainsi que les facteurs de prédisposition génétique et l'apparition de certains cancers.

Pour plus d'information,et pour télécharger la liste des résumés des communications, visitez le site internet de la Conférence, à http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1046/j.1467-3010.2001.00169.x/full,
ou contacter le Dr Nicolas Gaudin, chef, communication ()



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr