PRESS RELEASE
N° 140
20 February 2002 

OVERWEIGHT AND LACK OF EXERCISE LINKED TO INCREASED CANCER RISK
A GROWING PROBLEM


In both industrialized and industrializing countries, overweight and obesity have become increasingly common over the last two decades, and in western countries it has reached epidemic dimensions. In the USA, one quarter of Americans were overweight in 1978, and in 1990, one third were overweight. The latest figures show that 60% are now overweight. In Europe, about half the adult population is currently overweight, and urban areas of many developing countries have a similar prevalence.

Overweight measurement is provided by the body mass index (BMI), calculated by dividing the body weight (in kg) by the height squared (m2). Thus, an adult who weighs 100 kg and is 2 m tall has a BMI of 25. The World Health Organization considers a BMI of less than 18.5 to be an indicator of underweight, whereas a BMI >25 indicates overweight and >30, obesity. The normal, desirable range is from 18.5 to 25. For an adult of 1 m 75, therefore, this weight range would be from 57 to 77 kg. (Height: 5ft 7in., weight range from 125.6 lb- 169.7 lb).

The reasons for the epidemic are not hard to discover. The fundamental causes of the obesity and overweight lie in sedentary lifestyles and over-consumption of high-calorie food. Body fat is a consequence of an imbalance between calorie intake and expenditure, both of which have strong cultural and behavioural components. The importance of physical activity as a determinant of body weight is well known. Children in western countries are less physically active than in the past, both at home and at school.

The consequences of the epidemic of overweight and obesity are now being realized. Overweight and insufficient physical activity are associated with several chronic illnesses, including cardiovascular disease and adult-onset diabetes. Their role in cancer development was evaluated by a panel of international experts convened by the International Agency for Research on Cancer, of the World Health Organization (WHO) in Lyon on 13–20 February 2001.

The full review and conclusions of the relevant scientific information, and recommendations for public health action have now been published in Volume 6 of the IARC Handbooks of Cancer Prevention. The IARC Handbook also summarizes the evidence of mechanisms involved in such effects, e.g., as related to hormonal metabolism and immune function.

Limiting weight gain reduces the risk of postmenopausal breast cancer and cancer of the colon, endometrium, kidney (renal-cell) and adenocarcinoma of the oesophagus. Regular physical activity reduces the risk of breast and colon cancer, and possibly that of endometrial and prostate cancer. Some of these effects are independent of that of weight control.

The increase in cancer risk is approximately linear with increasing body-mass index and decrease with increasing physical activity (whether in intensity, frequency or duration). Scientists have estimated that up to one third of cancers of the colon, breast and kidney can be attributed to overweight and insufficient physical activity. Thus, adiposity and inactivity represent the most important avoidable causes for these cancers. In the European Union, 21 000 cases of colon cancer and 13 000 cases of breast cancer could be avoided annually by maintaining a normal body weight.

There is no simple solution to the epidemic of obesity and physical inactivity. Their origins lie in culture and society, and they are epitomized by the suburban mall, with their drive-through fast-food restaurants. Dealing with it requires action at the levels of public health policy (with respect to nutrition and physical activity) and education (of both the public and health care providers). The IARC Handbook recommends maintaining body weight in the lower part of the desirable range (body-mass index between 18.5 and 25), avoiding more than 5 kg weight gain during adult life and decreasing weight (5-10%) in already overweight or obese subjects. Individuals should also be encouraged to perform moderate activity such as brisk walking and cycling, for at least 30 min several days a week. In addition to reducing the risk of chronic diseases such as coronary heart disease and diabetes, such behavior would also protect against some cancers, particularly against colon and breast cancers.
____________________________

This Handbook of Cancer Prevention, like all other IARC publications, is available directly from:

IARCPress World
150, cours Albert-Thomas
69008 Lyon
France

IARCPress North America
1775 K Street, N.W., Suite 480
Washington, D.C. 20006
USA

Telephone: +33 472 738 485

Toll-free Telephone: (877) WHO-IARC

Facsimile: +33 472 738 302
E-mail: press@iarc.fr

Facsimile: (202) 223-1782
E-mail: iarcpress@who.int


If your browser does not include Adobe’s Acrobat Reader, you can download it free from:
http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html

IARC publications can also be obtained through the WHO Distribution and Sales division
and from Oxford University Press



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 140
20 février 2002 

SURPOIDS ET MANQUE D'EXERCICE SONT LIES A UN RISQUE ACCRU DE CANCER

Dans les pays industrialisés comme dans les pays en développement, le surpoids et l’obésité sont de plus en plus fréquents depuis une vingtaine d’années et, dans les pays occidentaux, ce phénomène a atteint des dimensions épidémiques. Aux Etats-Unis, un quart de la population avait un poids excessif en 1978, cette proportion atteignant un tiers de la population en 1990. Les derniers chiffres montrent que 60 % de la population adulte est aujourd’hui dans la même situation, et les zones urbaines de nombreux pays en développement enregistrent une prévalence comparable.

La mesure la plus communément acceptée du surpoids est l’indice de masse corporelle (IMC), que l’on obtient en divisant le poids corporel (en kg) par le carré de la taille (m2). Ainsi, un adulte pesant 100 kg et mesurant 2 mètres a un IMC de 25. L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé estime qu’un IMC inférieur à 18,5 est un indicateur d’insuffisante pondérale et qu’un IMC supérieur à 25 indique un surpoids ; un IMC supérieur à 30 est synonyme d’obésité. Un IMC normal, en tout cas souhaitable, se situe entre 18,5 et 25. Pour un adulte mesurant 1,75m, ce poids souhaitable se situe donc entre 57 et 77 kilos.

Les raisons de cette épidémie sont simples. Les causes fondamentales de l’obésité et du surpoids résident dans un mode de vie sédentaire et une surconsommation d’aliments hautement caloriques. La graisse corporelle est la conséquence d’un déséquilibre entre l’apport et la dépense caloriques, qui relèvent l’un et l’autre de phénomènes hautement culturels et comportementaux. L’importance de l’activité physique comme cause déterminante du poids corporel est bien connue. Les enfants, dans les pays occidentaux, sont moins physiquement actifs que par le passé, à la maison comme à l’école.

Les conséquences de l’épidémie de surpoids et d’obésité sont maintenant comprises. Le surpoids et une activité physique insuffisante sont associés à plusieurs maladies chroniques, comme les maladies cardiovasculaires et le diabète de l’adulte. Leur rôle dans le développement du cancer a été évalué par un groupe international d’experts réunis par le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer, de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) à Lyon, du 13 au 20 février 2001.

L’examen complet et les conclusions des documents scientifiques soumis à cette évaluation, et les recommandations d’actions de santé publique ont maintenant été éditées et forment le volume 6 des IARC Handbooks of Cancer Prevention. Ce manuel résume également les mécanismes intervenant dans ces effets, comme ceux qui sont liés au métabolisme hormonal et aux fonctions immunitaires.

Limiter les gains de poids réduit le risque de cancer du sein postménopausique et de cancer du côlon, de l’endomètre, du rein (cellules rénales) et d’adénocarcinome æsophagien. L’activité physique régulière réduit quant à elle le risque de cancer du sein et du côlon, et probablement celui du cancer de l’endomètre et de la prostate. Certains de ces effets sont indépendants du contrôle pondéral.

L’augmentation du risque de cancer est à peu près parallèle à l’augmentation de l’indice de masse corporelle et sa diminution, à l’augmentation de l’activité physique (que ce soit en intensité, en fréquence ou en durée). Les chercheurs ont estimé que jusqu’à un tiers des cancers du côlon, du sein et du rein peuvent être attribués à un poids excessif et à une activité physique insuffisante. Ainsi, l’adiposité et l’inactivité représentent les causes évitables les plus importantes pour ces cancers. Dans l’Union européenne, 21 000 cas de cancer du côlon et 13 000 cas de cancer du sein pourraient être évités chaque année par le maintien d’un poids corporel normal.

Il n’y a pas de solution simple à l’épidémie d’obésité et d’inactivité physique. Leur origine est culturelle et sociétale, et ce phénomène trouve son expression la plus parlante dans le centre commercial des banlieues occidentales, où l’on se procure une restauration rapide sans même sortir de sa voiture. Lutter contre ce phénomène nécessite des mesures de santé publique (en ce qui concerne la nutrition et l’activité physique) et éducatives, du public comme des prestataires de soins de santé. Le IARC Handbook recommande de maintenir son poids dans la partie inférieure de l’intervalle souhaitable (IMC entre 18,5 et 25), d’éviter des gains de poids de plus de 5 kilogrammes au cours de la vie adulte et de diminuer le poids (de 5 à 10 %) des sujets en surpoids ou obèses. Les individus doivent également être encouragés à exercer une activité physique modérée, comme la marche rapide ou la bicyclette, 30 minutes au moins plusieurs fois par semaine. En plus de réduire le risque de maladies chroniques comme les maladies coronariennes et le diabète, un tel comportement protégerait également contre certains cancers, notamment contre les cancers du côlon et du sein.

____________________

Ce volume des Handbooks of Cancer Prevention, comme toutes les publications du CIRC, est disponible auprès de :

IARCPress Monde
150, cours Albert-Thomas
69008 Lyon
France

IARCPress Amérique du Nord
1775 K Street, N.W., Suite 480
Washington, D.C. 20006
USA

Téléphone: +33 472 738 485
Facsimile: +33 472 738 302
Courriel : press@iarc.fr

Téléphone [Toll-free]: (877) WHO-IARC
Facsimile : (202) 223-1782
Courriel : iarcpress@who.int




Les publications du CIRC sont également disponibles auprès du Service Distribution et Ventes de l’OMS et de Oxford University Press



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr