PRESS RELEASE
N° 145
3 April 2003 

GLOBAL CANCER RATES COULD INCREASE BY 50% TO 15 MILLION BY 2020
World Cancer Report provides clear evidence that action on smoking, diet
and infections can prevent one third of cancers, another third can be cured

Cancer rates could further increase by 50% to 15 million new cases in the year 2020, according to  the World Cancer Report, the most comprehensive global examination of the disease to date.  However, the report also provides clear evidence that healthy lifestyles  and public health action by governments and health practitioners could stem this trend, and prevent as many as one third of cancers worldwide.

In the year 2000, malignant tumours were responsible for 12 per cent of the nearly 56 million deaths worldwide from all causes. In many countries, more than a quarter of deaths are attributable to cancer. In 2000, 5.3 million men and 4.7 million women developed a malignant tumour and altogether 6.2 million died from the disease. The report also reveals that cancer has emerged as a major public health problem in developing countries, matching its effect in industrialized nations.

“The World Cancer Report tells us that cancer rates are set to increase at an alarming rate globally. We can make a difference by taking action today. We have the opportunity to stem this increase.  This report calls on Governments, health practitioners and the general public to take urgent action. Action now can prevent one third of cancers, cure another third, and provide good, palliative care to the remaining third who need it, "said Dr. Paul Kleihues, Director of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) and co-editor of the World Cancer Report.        

The World Cancer Report is a concise manual describing the global burden, the causes of cancer, major types of malignancies, early detection and treatment. The 351-page global report is issued by IARC, which is part of the World Health Organization (WHO). 

Dr Gro Harlem Brundtland, Director-General of WHO, states: “The report provides a basis for public health action and assists us in our goal to reduce the morbidity and mortality from cancer, and to improve the quality of life of cancer patients and their families, everywhere in the world,”

Examples of areas where action can make a difference to stemming the increase of cancer rates and preventing a third of cases are:

        •  Reduction of tobacco consumption.  It remains the most important avoidable cancer risk. In the 20th century, approximately 100 million people died worldwide from       tobacco-associated diseases.
        •  A healthy lifestyle and diet can help. Frequent consumption of fruit and vegetables and physical activity can make a difference.
        •  Early detection through screening, particularly for cervical and breast cancers, allow for prevention and successful cure.  

The predicted sharp increase in new cases   from 10 million new cases globally in 2000, to 15 million in 2020 - will mainly be due to steadily ageing populations in both developed and developing countries and also to current trends in smoking prevalence and the growing adoption of unhealthy lifestyles.

“Governments, physicians, and health educators at all levels could do much more to help people change their behaviour to avoid preventable cancers,” says Bernard W. Stewart, Ph.D., co-editor of the report, Director of Cancer Services, and Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of New South Wales, Australia. “If the knowledge, technology and control strategies outlined in the World Cancer Report were applied globally, we would make major advances in preventing and treating cancers over the next twenty years and beyond.”

From a global perspective, there is strong justification for focusing cancer prevention activities particularly on two main cancer-causing factors - tobacco and  diet. We also need to continue efforts to curb infections which cause cancers,” said Dr Rafael Bengoa, Director, Management of Non-communicable disease at WHO. “These factors were responsible for 43 per cent of all cancer deaths in 2000, that is 2.7 million fatalities, and 40 per cent of all new cases, that is four million new cancer cases.”

As part of an effort to stem this trend, WHO is engaged in efforts to stem both tobacco use, and to improve diet, nutrition and physical activity. Tobacco consumption remains the most important avoidable cancer risk. The report reviews and recommends a number of strategies to reduce global tobacco consumption, requiring the coordinated involvement of government and community health organizations, health care professionals and individuals. The groundbreaking public health treaty - the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control - which the Member States of WHO have agreed to submit to the World Health Assembly in May 2003, represents a powerful tool to ensure that such strategies are implemented.

WHO is also engaged in preparing a Global Strategy on Diet, Physical Activity and Health, under a May 2002 mandate from Member States to address the growing global burden of chronic diseases, including cancers, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes and obesity. WHO is consulting widely with Member States, other UN agencies, the private sector and civil society on the strategy, which will be presented to the World Health Assembly in May 2004. The strategy will contain recommendations for governments on nutrition and physical activity goals and population-based interventions to reduce the prevalence of chronic disease including cancer.


For further information

For US media enquiries please contact:
Ian Larsen, Hoffman & Hoffman Public Relations, +1 703 820 2244 (office), mobile: +1 703 29 2099; or Nils Hoffman, +1 703 820 2244 (office), mobile: +1 703 967 1490.

For UK Media enquiries, please contact Victoria Sabin or Julia Hobsbawn, Hobsbawn Media and Marketing Communications, +44 207 964 8570 (office), or Victoria Sabin, mobile + 44 07971 430244.

Nicolas Gaudin, Chief, IARC Communications, International Agency for Research on Cancer, E-mail:
Rebecca Harding, Communications Officer, World Health Organization, Mobile (+41) 79 509 0651.

Please note that high resolution photos will be available on WHO website from 3rd April for downloading: http://www.who.int/multimedia/worldcancerday2003/photo.html

http://www.iarc.fr/en/publications/pdfs-online/wcr/2003/index.php


All WHO Press Releases, Fact Sheets and Features can be obtained on the WHO home page http://www.who.int/.



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 145
3 avril 2003 

LA FREQUENCE DES CANCERS POURRAIT AUGMENTER DE 50 % DANS LE MONDE,
AVEC 15 MILLIONS DE NOUVEAUX CAS PAR AN EN 2020

Le rapport sur le cancer dans le monde montre clairement que les mesures prises
contre le tabagisme, les infections et pour une alimentation plus saine
peuvent éviter un tiers des cas et permettre de guérir un autre tiers

La fréquence des cancers pourrait encore augmenter de 50% et il y aurait alors 15 millions de nouveaux cas par an en 2020, selon le World Cancer Report, l’examen le plus complet à ce jour de la situation. Ce document montre aussi clairement que l’adoption de modes de vie sains et les mesures de santé publiques prises par les gouvernements et les professions de santé pourraient retourner cette tendance et éviter jusqu’à un tiers des cas.

En 2000, les tumeurs malignes ont été à l’origine de 12% des quelque 56 millions de décès dans le monde, toutes causes confondues. Dans de nombreux pays, plus d’un quart des morts sont imputables au cancer. En 2000, 5,3 millions d’hommes et 4,7 millions de femmes ont développé une tumeur maligne et 6,2 millions d’êtres humains en sont morts.

Le rapport révèle également que le cancer est aussi devenu un grand problème de santé publique dans les pays en développement, avec des répercussions comparables à celles dans les pays industrialisés.

«Le World Cancer Report nous indique que la fréquence des cancers va augmenter à un rythme alarmant dans le monde, mais que nous pouvons agir en prenant immédiatement des mesures. Nous avons la possibilité d’endiguer cette augmentation. Le rapport demande aux gouvernements, aux professions de santé et au grand public de prendre d’urgence des mesures. On pourra ainsi éviter un tiers des cancers, guérir un deuxième tiers et assurer des soins palliatifs de qualité pour le dernier tiers», a déclaré le Dr Paul Kleihues, Directeur du CIRC et co-rédacteur du rapport.

Le World Cancer Report est un document concis de 351 pages décrivant la charge mondiale de morbidité, les causes du cancer, les principaux types de tumeurs malignes, le dépistage précoce et le traitement. Il est publié par le Centre international de Recherche sur le cancer (CIRC), qui fait partie de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS).

Le docteur Gro Harlem Brundtland, Directeur général de l'OMS, déclare: «Ce rapport nous donne une base pour prendre des mesures de santé publique et nous aide à atteindre nos objectifs: diminuer la morbidité et la mortalité du cancer, améliorer la qualité de vie des sujets atteints et de leur famille partout dans le monde».

On peut donner quelques exemples de mesures qui auront un effet certain sur l’augmentation de la fréquence des cancers et permettront la prévention d’un tiers des cas:
       ·  Diminution de la consommation de tabac. La consommation de tabac reste le plus grand risque évitable de cancer. Au vingtième siècle, environ 100 millions de personnes sont mortes dans le monde de maladies liées au tabagisme.
       ·  La qualité des modes de vie et de l’alimentation joue un grand rôle. La consommation fréquente de fruits et légumes et l’exercice physique ont de réels effets.
       ·  Le dépistage précoce, notamment des cancers du col de l’utérus et du sein, est une mesure de prévention qui permet également de traiter les tumeurs avec succès.

La forte augmentation que l’on prévoit pour le nombre des cas, de 10 millions en 2000 à 15 millions en 2020, sera principalement due au vieillissement de la population dans les pays développés comme dans ceux en développement, ainsi qu’aux tendances actuelles au niveau du tabagisme et de l’adoption de modes de vie préjudiciables pour la santé.

«Les autorités, les médecins, les éducateurs sanitaires à tous les niveaux doivent s’efforcer beaucoup plus d’aider les gens à modifier leurs comportements de façon à éviter les cancers, affirme Bernard W. Stewart, co-rédacteur du rapport, Directeur des services de cancérologie et professeur à la faculté de médecine de l’Université de Nouvelle-Galles du Sud en Australie.«Si nous appliquions dans le monde entier les connaissances, les technologies et les stratégies décrites dans ce rapport, nous ferions d’énormes progrès dans la prévention et le traitement des cancers au cours des vingt prochaines années au moins.»
«Dans une perspective globale, l’orientation des actions de prévention sur les deux principaux facteurs de risque, le tabac et l’alimentation, se justifie pleinement. Nous devons également poursuivre nos efforts pour endiguer les infections à l’origine de cancers, ajoute le Dr Rafael Bengoa, Directeur à l’OMS du département Prise en charge des maladies non transmissibles. «Ces facteurs sont à l’origine de 43% de tous les décès imputables au cancer en 2000, soit 2,7 millions de morts, et de 40% des nouveaux cas, soit 4millions.»

Dans le cadre des efforts pour retourner cette tendance, l’OMS s’est engagée à lutter contre le tabagisme et à améliorer l’alimentation, la nutrition et l’exercice physique. La consommation de tabac reste le plus grand risque évitable de cancer. Le rapport passe en revue et recommande un certain nombre de stratégies pour la réduire dans le monde, ce qui demandera l’engagement coordonné des organismes de santé des gouvernements et des collectivités, des professions de santé et des individus. La convention-cadre pour la lutte antitabac, traité novateur de santé publique, que les Etats Membre de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé ont accepté de présenter à l’Assemblée mondiale de la Santé en mai 2003, est un outil puissant pour veiller à la mise en œuvre de ces stratégies.

L’OMS s’est également engagée dans la préparation d’une stratégie mondiale sur l’alimentation, l’exercice physique et la santé, après avoir été chargée par les Etats Membres, en mai 2002 de s’occuper du fardeau croissant des maladies chroniques, dont les cancers, les maladies cardio-vasculaires, le diabète et l’obésité. L’OMS a entrepris de nombreuses consultations avec les Etats Membres, les institutions des Nations Unies, le secteur privé et la société civile à propos de cette stratégie, qui sera présentée à l’Assemblée mondiale de la Santé en mai 2004. Elle comprendra des recommandations faites aux gouvernements pour la nutrition et l’exercice physique et des interventions en population pour diminuer la prévalence des maladies chroniques, dont le cancer.

Pour de plus amples informations :

Aux Etats-Unis, les médias peuvent s’adresser à : Ian Larsen, Hoffman & Hoffman Public Relations, +1 703 820 2244 (bureau) ; portable : +1 703 29 2099 ; ou à  Nils Hoffman, +1 703 820 2244 (bureau) ; portable : +1 703 967 1490.

Au Royaume-Uni, les médias peuvent s’adresser à Victoria Sabin ou à Julia Hobsbawn, Hobsbawn Media and Marketing Communications, +44 207 964 8570 (bureau), ou au + 44 07971 430244 (portable de Victoria Sabin).

Nicolas Gaudin, Chef, Communication, Centre international de Recherche sur le cancer, tél. : +33 472 738 567 Portable:+33 680 572 966, télécopie: +33 472 738 311, mél : .

Rebecca Harding, Chargée de communication, Organisation mondiale de la Santé, portable : (+41) 79 509 0651.

Veuillez noter que le site de l’OMS propose des photos à haute résolution qui pourront être téléchargées à partir du 3 avril :
  http://www.who.int/multimedia/worldcancerday2003/photo.html.

Tous les communiqués de presse, aide-mémoire et articles de fond de l'OMS sont accessibles sur Internet à partir de la page d'accueil de l'OMS : http://www.who.int/.

http://www.iarc.fr/en/publications/pdfs-online/wcr/2003/index.php



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr