PRESS RELEASE
N° 147
20 May 2003 

SPAIN JOINS THE IARC AS MEMBER STATE

The annual meeting of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) started with a fanfare. One new Member State was given a warm welcome : Spain is becoming IARC’s sixteenth member.

Dr Jean Larivière, Chairman of the Agency’s Governing Council, stated :
"This will open a new spectrum of collaboration in southern Europe and complete IARC’s representation on this continent." The Membership of the IARC is now 16, of which 12 countries are European, two are North American (Canada, USA), and two are located in the East (Australia, Japan).

The Agency, a Research institute of the World Health Organization (WHO), aims at global representation and talks have been initiated with additional countries who have expressed the wish to join the membership.

Dr Moreno, Spain’s Representative on the Governing Council of IARC, said: "I am proud and honored for my country to join the Agency. Cancer research is an essential element of our national health system, and our Health plan aims at achieving a better understanding of the etiological mechanisms of the disease, at developing therapeutic instruments for palliative care and implementing new technologies for better care".

Dr Paul Kleihues, Director of the Agency, took pleasure in greeting the new membership of Spain, and added that "Spain will reinforce the Agency’s commitment to research into the causes of cancer leading to the real aim – the primary prevention of cancer which is the most universal component of cancer control".




World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 147
15 mai 2003 

L'ESPAGNE NOUVEL ETAT MEMBRE DU CIRC

La réunion annuelle du Conseil du Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC) a démarré en fanfare. Un nouvel Etat membre y a reçu un chaleureux accueil : l’Espagne devient ainsi le seizième membre du CIRC.

Le Dr Jean Larivière, Président du Conseil de Direction du Centre, a déclaré :
« L’arrivée de l’Espagne ouvre toute une gamme de possibilités de collaborations en Europe du Sud et complète la représentation du CIRC sur ce continent ». Le CIRC compte à présent 16 Etats membres, dont 12 sont européens, deux sont nord-américains (le Canada et les Etats-Unis), et deux sont situés en Orient et en Océanie (Australie, Japon).

Le Centre, institut de recherche de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé, appelle de ses vœux une représentation mondiale, et des discussions ont démarré avec d’autres pays qui ont exprimé le souhait d’adhérer au CIRC.

Le Dr Moreno, représentant de l’Espagne au Conseil de Direction du CIRC, a déclaré : « Je suis fier et honoré que mon pays soit admis au Centre. La recherche sur le cancer est un élément essentiel de notre système national de santé, et notre plan de santé vise à une meilleure compréhension des mécanismes étiologiques de la maladie, à développer les instruments thérapeutiques pour les soins palliatifs et à mettre en application de nouvelles technologies pour de meilleurs soins ».

Le Dr Paul Kleihues, Directeur du Centre, a manifesté sa joie d’accueillir l’Espagne, et a ajouté que "L’Espagne vient renforcer l’engagement du Centre en matière de recherche sur les causes du cancer dans le but ultime : la prévention primaire du cancer, c’est-à-dire la composante la plus universelle de la lutte contre cette maladie".




World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr