PRESS RELEASE
N° 153
15 June 2004 

IARC CLASSIFIES FORMALDEHYDE AS CARCINOGENIC TO HUMANS

"Twenty-six scientists from 10 countries evaluated the available evidence on the carcinogenicity of formaldehyde, a widely used chemical", reports Dr Peter Boyle, Director of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), part of the World Health Organization. The working group, convened by the IARC Monographs Programme, concluded that formaldehyde is carcinogenic to humans. Previous evaluations, based on the smaller number of studies available at that time, had concluded that formaldehyde was probably carcinogenic to humans, but new information from studies of persons exposed to formaldehyde has increased the overall weight of the evidence.

Based on this new information, the expert working group has determined that there is now sufficient evidence that formaldehyde causes nasopharyngeal cancer in humans, a rare cancer in developed countries. "Their conclusion that there is adequate data available from humans for an increased risk of a relatively rare form of cancer (nasopharyngeal cancer), and a supporting mechanism, demonstrates the value and strengths of the Monographs Programme," emphasized Dr Boyle. The working group also found limited evidence for cancer of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses and "strong but not sufficient evidence" for leukaemia. The finding for leukaemia reflects the epidemiologists’ finding of strong evidence in human studies coupled with an inability to identify a mechanism for induction of leukaemia, based on the data available at this time. "By signalling the degree of evidence for leukaemia and cancer of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses, the working group identified areas where further clarification through research is needed. This represents a service to Public Health", Dr Boyle concluded.

Formaldehyde is produced worldwide on a large scale. It is used mainly in the production of resins that are used as adhesives and binders for wood products, pulp, paper, glasswool and rockwool. Formaldehyde is also used extensively in the production of plastics and coatings, in textile finishing and in the manufacture of industrial chemicals. It is used as a disinfectant and preservative (formalin) in many applications.

Common sources of exposure include vehicle emissions, particle boards and similar building materials, carpets, paints and varnishes, foods and cooking, tobacco smoke, and the use of formaldehyde as a disinfectant. Levels of formaldehyde in outdoor air are generally low but higher levels can be found in the indoor air of homes.


Occupational exposure to formaldehyde occurs in a wide variety of occupations and industries: for example, it is estimated that more than one million workers are exposed to some degree across the European Union. Short-term exposures to high levels have been reported for embalmers, pathologists and paper workers. Lower levels have usually been encountered during the manufacture of man-made vitreous fibres, abrasives and rubber and in formaldehyde production industries. A very wide range of exposure levels has been observed in the production of resins and plastic products. The development of resins that release less formaldehyde and improved ventilation has resulted in decreased exposure levels in many industrial settings in recent decades.

The working group also evaluated two glycol ethers (2-butoxyethanol and 1-tert-butoxy-2-propanol) and evaluated these as not classifiable as to their carcinogenicity to humans, due to the inadequate level of evidence in humans and limited evidence in experimental animals available to the experts. Further research is needed on these widely-used solvents.
 
 
 


The IARC Monographs
The IARC Monographs series publishes authoritative independent assessments by international experts of the carcinogenic risks posed to humans by a variety of agents, mixtures and exposures. Since its inception in 1972, the series has reviewed more than 880 agents, and IARC Monographs have become well-known for their thoroughness, accuracy and integrity. http://monographs.iarc.fr/. For details about evaluation criteria, please link to http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Classification/index.php.
 
For more information, please contact Dr Nicolas Gaudin, Chief, Communications, at  or Dr Yann Grosse at 


World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 153
15 juin 2004 

LE CIRC CLASSE LE FORMALDEHYDE COMME CANCEROGENE


"Vingt-six chercheurs, venus de dix pays différents, ont évalué les indications scientifiques disponibles de la cancérogénicité du formaldéhyde, un produit chimique largement utilisé", a indiqué en guise d’introduction le Dr Peter Boyle, Directeur du Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC), de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé. Le Groupe de travail, à l’issue de la réunion organisée par le Programme des Monographies du CIRC, a conclu que le formaldéhyde est cancérogène pour l’homme. Les précédentes évaluations, fondées alors sur un plus petit nombre d’études, avaient conclu que le formaldéhyde était probablement cancérogène pour l’homme, mais de nouvelles données provenant d’études de personnes exposées au formaldéhyde ont accru le poids global des indications scientifiques.

Sur la base de ces nouvelles données, le groupe d’experts a pu déterminer qu’il disposait à présent d’indications suffisantes de ce que le formaldéhyde provoque le cancer du rhinopharynx chez l’homme, un cancer rare dans les pays développés. "Leur conclusion qu’il existe suffisamment de preuves chez l’homme d’un risque accru d’une forme relativement rare de cancer (en l’occurrence, le cancer du rhinopharynx), et d’un mécanisme expliquant cette association fait la preuve de la valeur et des vertus du Programme des Monographies, a appuyé le Dr Boyle. Le Groupe de Travail a également trouvé des indications limitées pour le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus de la face et des indications "fortes mais non suffisantes" pour la leucémie. Ce résultat pour la leucémie reflète l’observation par les épidémiologistes de fortes indications dans les études humaines et leur impossibilité à identifier un mécanisme expliquant l’induction de la leucémie sur la base des données disponibles aujourd’hui. "En outre, en faisant connaitre le degré de force des indications scientifiques d’une association entre l’exposition au formaldéhyde et un risque accru de leucémie et de cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus de la face, le Groupe de Travail a identifié les secteurs de recherche à approfondir. C'est là un grand service pour la Santé publique", a conclu Peter Boyle.

Le formaldéhyde est produit dans le monde entier à grande échelle. On l’emploie principalement dans la production de résines utilisées comme adhésifs et comme liants dans les produits du bois, la pâte à papier, le papier, la laine de verre et la laine de roche. Le formaldéhyde est aussi beaucoup employé dans la production des matières plastiques et des revêtements, dans la finition textile et dans la manufacture de produits chimiques industriels. On l’utilise comme désinfectant et comme conservateur (formol) pour de nombreuses applications.

Les sources d’exposition les plus fréquentes sont les gaz d’échappement des véhicules à moteur, les panneaux de particules agglomérées et autres matériaux de construction semblables, les moquettes, les peintures et vernis, les aliments et la cuisson, la fumée de tabac, et l’utilisation de formaldéhyde comme désinfectant. Les niveaux de formaldéhyde dans l’air ambiant sont généralement faibles, mais l’on peut trouver des niveaux plus élevés dans l’air intérieur des habitations.

Il y a exposition au formaldéhyde dans un grand nombre d’industries et de circonstances professionnelles. Par exemple, on estime que plus d’un million de travailleurs y sont exposés, à des degrés divers, dans l’Union européenne. Des expositions à court terme à des niveaux élevés ont été signalées pour les embaumeurs, les anatomo-pathologistes et les travailleurs de l’industrie papetière. Des niveaux inférieurs ont le plus souvent été enregistrés au cours de la manufacture de fibres minérales artificielles, d’abrasifs et de caoutchouc et dans les industries de manufacture de formaldéhyde. Une grande amplitude de niveaux d’exposition a été observée dans la production de résines et de matières plastiques. Le développement de résines qui dégagent moins de formaldéhyde et une meilleure ventilation ont fait baisser les niveaux d’exposition dans de nombreuses industries aux cours des dernières décennies.

Le Groupe de Travail a également procédé à l’évaluation de deux éthers de glycol (le 2-butoxyéthanol et le 1-tert-butoxy-2-propanol) et ont estimé, d’après les données dont ils disposaient, qu’ils étaient inclassables quant à leur cancérogénicité pour l’homme, en raison du niveau insuffisant des indications chez l’homme et des indications limitées chez l’animal de laboratoire. Des recherches plus poussées sur ces solvants très utilisés sont nécessaires.

 
 
 


Les Monographies du CIRC
Les monographies du CIRC, qui font autorité en la matière, sont des évaluations indépendantes, réalisées par des experts internationaux, des risques cancérogènes qu'un grand nombre de différents agents font courir à l'homme. Depuis son lancement en 1972, cette série a permis de faire le point sur plus de 880 agents, et les monographies du CIRC sont réputées pour leur minutie, leur exactitude et leur impartialité. http://monographs.iarc.fr/indexfr.php Pour obtenir les critères d’évaluation, voir http://monographs.iarc.fr/FR/Classification/index.php.


Pour plus d’information, contacter Nicolas Gaudin, Chef, Communication, à ou Yann Grosse, à  



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr