PRESS RELEASE
N° 155
10 December 2004 

IARC STUDY SHOWS INCREASING CANCER RATES IN CHILDREN
IN EUROPE

Background

Patterns and trends in childhood cancer incidence and survival in Europe over the last 30 years have today been published in The Lancet
(http://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736%2804%2917550-8/abstract).
'Our results provide clear evidence of an increase in cancer incidence in children and adolescents over the past decades, and of an acceleration of this trend', says Dr Eva Steliarova-Foucher, the project coordinator at the International Agency for Research on Cancer. 'However, cancer at these ages remains a rare disease,' she adds.

This is the first report of the European-Union supported ACCIS project (Automated Childhood Cancer Information System), steered by an international Scientific Committee composed of the authors of the paper, and is the result of collaboration between some 80 population-based cancer registries.


Dr Peter Boyle, Director of IARC, notes that 'This project once again highlights the central role of IARC in assembling data from many geographic regions and, employing a standardized approach to presentation and analysis, maximizing the use of such data to shed light on important issues in cancer control.'

Facts and figures

Based on 100,596 children with cancer, the average cancer incidence rate was 118 per million in the 1970s, 124 in the 1980s, and 139 in the 1990s, increasing significantly by 1% per year on average.


In adolescents aged 15-19, the rates increased by 1.5% per year on average: the corresponding incidence rates were 147 in the 1970s, 165 in the 1980s and 193 in the 1990s, based on 15,460 cases of cancer.

The study shows an increase for all types of cancer in both children and adolescents, leukaemias and brain tumours being the most common cancers in children in Europe, while carcinomas and lymphomas occur most frequently in teenagers. Dr Steliarova-Foucher adds: 'This increase in cancers is evident at all ages but is greater in children under four and in adolescents.'

Better survival

Thanks mainly to improvements in diagnosis and treatment, children diagnosed with cancer during the 1990s had a 5-year survival of 75% in western and 64% in eastern Europe. Survival in adolescents was much the same. As in other developed countries, survival has improved dramatically since the 1970s, when 5-year survival was only 44% for children and 50% for adolescents. All tumour types benefited from the improvement of survival, including the major tumour groups of leukaemias, lymphomas and CNS tumours.

Interpretation

Although improvements in diagnosis and registration cannot be entirely ruled out to explain the higher figures, this can only possibly contribute partially to the increase in incidence rates.

'To follow-up our important findings, it will be necessary to identify the specific tumour types and population groups that are affected by these increases in incidence', Dr Steliarova-Foucher goes on.

Work on the ACCIS database will continue, in collaboration with cancer registries, focusing on general large-scale patterns to move towards more specific hypotheses. Identification of the risk factors is an expensive and long-term undertaking, because of the rarity of cancer in the young.

Dr Peter Boyle concludes: 'This is not the end of such a project and we need to find the means to extend collaboration to obtain a clearer insight into the situation of childhood cancer incidence and survival in lower-resource countries.'

The paper:

The Lancet 2004; 364: 2097-105
Geographical patterns and time trends of cancer incidence and survival among children and adolescents in Europe since the 1970s (the ACCIS project): an epidemiological study
Eva Steliarova-Foucher(1), Charles Stiller(2), Peter Kaatsch(3), Franco Berrino(4), Jan-Willem Coebergh(5,6), Brigitte Lacour(6), Max Parkin(1)


    (1)International Agency for Research on Cancer, Lyon, France
    (2)Childhood Cancer Research Group, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
    (3)German Childhood Cancer Registry, University of Johannes Gutenberg, Mainz, Germany
    (4)National Cancer Institute, Milan, Italy
    (5)Dutch Childhood Oncology Group, The Hague, The Netherlands
    (6)Department of Public Health, Erasmus University, Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    (7)Registre National des Tumeurs Solides de l'Enfant, Faculté de Médecine, Vandœuvre, France


For further information on this, please contact Dr Eva Steliarová-Foucher, at , or Dr Nicolas Gaudin, at .


World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 155
10 décembre 2004 

UNE ETUDE DU CIRC MONTRE UNE AUGMENTATION DES TAUX D’INCIDENCE DES CANCERS DE L’ENFANT EN EUROPE


Considérations générales


La distribution et les tendances de l’incidence et de la survie liées aux cancers de l’enfant en Europe au cours des 30 dernières années ont été publiées aujourd’hui dans The Lancet
(http://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736%2804%2917550-8/abstract).
'Nos résultats montrent clairement une augmentation de l’incidence du cancer chez les enfants et les adolescents au cours des dernières décennies, et une accélération de cette tendance', selon le Dr Eva Steliarova-Foucher, coordinatrice du projet au Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer. 'Toutefois, le cancer à ces âges demeure une maladie rare,' précise-t-elle.


Il s’agit-là du premier rapport du projet ACCIS (Automated Childhood Cancer Information System), soutenu financièrement par l’UE, et géré par une Commission scientifique composée par les auteurs de l’article, qui constitue le principal résultat de la collaboration entre quelque 80 registres du cancer dans la population.

Le Dr Peter Boyle, Directeur du CIRC, note que 'Ce projet souligne une fois encore le rôle central que joue le CIRC dans l’assemblage des données provenant de nombreuses régions différentes et, à l’aide de moyens standard de présentation et d’analyse, et optimise l’emploi de ces donnéees pour éclairer d’importantes questions en matière de lutte contre le cancer.'


Faits et chiffres


Sur la base de 100 596 enfants atteints de cancer, le taux d’incidence moyen était de 118 par million dans les années 1970, de 124 dans les années 1980, et de 139 dans les années 1990, augmentant de façon significative de 1% l’an en moyenne.

Chez les adolescents âgés de 15 à 19 ans, les taux augmentent de 1,5% par an en moyenne : les taux d’incidence correspondants étaient de 147 dans les années 1970, de 165 dans les années 1980 et de 193 dans les années 1990, sur la base de 15 460 cas de cancer.

L’étude montre une augmentation pour tous les types de cancer chez les enfants comme chez les adolescents, les leucémies et les tumeurs cérébrales étant les cancers les plus fréquents chez les enfants en Europe, tandis que les carcinomes et les lymphomes surviennent le plus souvent chez les adolescents. Le Dr Steliarova-Foucher ajoute : 'Cette augmentation des cancers se retrouve à tous les âges, mais est la plus forte chez les enfants de moins de quatre ans et chez les adolescents.'

Meilleurs taux de survie

En grande partie grâce aux améliorations en matière de diagnostic et de traitement, les enfants chez qui l’on diagnostiquait un cancer dans les années 1990 avaient une survie à cinq ans de 75 % en Europe occidentale et de 64 % en Europe orientale. La survie chez les adolescents était pratiquement la même. Comme dans d’autres pays développés, la survie a progressé de façon spectaculaire depuis les années 1970, où la survie à cinq ans n’était que de 44 % pour les enfants et de 50 % pour les adolescents. Tous les types de tumeurs ont bénéficié de l’amélioration de la survie, y compris les grands groupes de tumeurs que sont les leucémies, les lymphomes et les tumeurs du SNC.

Interprétation

Bien qu’on ne puisse totalement éliminer les progrès diagnostiques et de l’enregistrement pour expliquer ces chiffres en augmentation, ils ne peuvent en tout état de cause qu’apporter une contribution partielle à l’augmentation des taux d’incidence.

'Pour faire suite à ces importants résultats, il sera nécessaire d’identifier les types de tumeurs spécifiques et les groupes de population qu’affectent ces augmentations de l’incidence', poursuit le Dr Steliarova-Foucher.

Les travaux sur la base de données ACCIS se poursuivront, en collaboration avec les registres du cancer, et glisseront plus particulièrement des distributions générales à grande échelle vers des hypothèses plus spécifiques. L’identification des facteurs de risque est une entreprise onéreuse et de longue haleine, en raison de la rareté du cancer chez les jeunes.

Dr Peter Boyle conclut : 'Ces résultats ne sont pas la fin d’un projet tel que celui-là et nous devons maintenant trouver les moyens d’élargir nos collaborations pour mieux comprendre la situation de l’incidence et de la survie chez les enfants dans les pays moins développés.'

L’article :
The Lancet 2004; 364: 2097-105
Geographical patterns and time trends of cancer incidence and survival among children and adolescents in Europe since the 1970s (the ACCIS project): an epidemiological study
Eva Steliarova-Foucher(1), Charles Stiller(2), Peter Kaatsch(3), Franco Berrino(4), Jan-Willem Coebergh(5,6), Brigitte Lacour(7), Max Parkin(1).

   (1)Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer, Lyon (France)
   (2)Childhood Cancer Research Group, University of Oxford, Oxford (Royaume-Uni)
   (3)Registre allemand des Cancers de l’Enfant, Université Johannes Gutenberg, Mayence (Allemagne)
   (4)Institut national du Cancer, Milan (Italie)
   (5)Groupe néerlandais des Cancers de l’Enfant, La Haye (Pays-Bas)
   (6)Département de Santé publique, Université Erasme, Rotterdam (Pays-Bas)
   (7)Registre National des Tumeurs Solides de l'Enfant, Faculté de Médecine, Vandœuvre, France

Pour plus amples renseignements, contacter le Dr Eva Steliarová-Foucher, , ou le Dr Nicolas Gaudin, .



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr