PRESS RELEASE
N° 156
16 December 2004 

A CONSORTIUM OF INTERNATIONAL PUBLIC HEALTH AGENCIES LAUNCH A COMPREHENSIVE TOOLBOX FOR IMPLEMENTATION OF EFFECTIVE SCREENING PROGRAMMES FOR CERVIX CANCER WORLD-WIDE
Woman treated for early invasive cervical cancer in rural India,
allowing for continuous social and economical support to her 6-children family.

FIGHTING INEQUITIES THROUGH CERVICAL CANCER PREVENTION

Cervix cancer is the second most common cancer in women worldwide. Unlike other cancers, cervix cancer can easily be prevented through screening and treatment of detected pre-cancerous lesions. It has thus the potential to be greatly reduced by a well-organized screening. This characteristic makes it one of the priority in the fight against cancer worldwide.

A huge burden on the most vulnerable: poor women in the developing world
Each year, 500,000 women learn that they have cervix cancer and 230,000 die from it. The vast majority of these women (80%) live in developing countries. It adds unnecessary suffering and has a strong economic impact on the most deprived, their families and their communities.
This huge inequality in health is even more striking when we know that well-implemented screening programmes can easily prevent cervical cancer, as demonstrated by the experience of some developed countries over the past 50 years.

Well organized screening programs are cost-effective also in low-resource settings
Further, multi-country studies have shown that, if well-organized and monitored, low-frequency cervical cancer screening programs are truly cost-effective in many low-ressource settings. Despite this fact, to date, very few effective screening programs exist in these settings. Most of existing programs only lead to a waste of already scarce resources. Says Dr Peter Boyle, Director of IARC: "Cervical cancer is undoubtedly a public health issue that can and needs to be remedied by building awareness, developing policies and implementing effective screening programs, recognizing that screening is just the first step in the management of a woman with cervix pathology."

From observation to methodology: bridging the know-do gap
Developing a global tool for Health Program Managers to reach effective implementation and thus reduce the disease burden was a huge undertaking. It required experience in a variety of regions and across many disciplines. The result is commensurate with the high expectations: this methodological tool is now universally endorsed by the highest health authorities. It gives an applicable and clear answer to a true public health issue that affects millions of women. "We must bridge the know-do gap for the benefit of women in low-resource countries and their families", Dr Boyle went on.

A unique Global Partnership

Partnership is the key
The Alliance for Cervical Cancer Prevention (ACCP) is a partnership involving five international health organizations: the WHO’s International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), Engenderhealth, JHPIEGO, PATH and the Pan-American Heath Organization (PAHO). For the last 5 years, this Alliance has worked in more than 50 countries on identifying, promoting and implementing effective safe and affordable cervical cancer prevention strategies in low-resource setting. This was made possible by a 50 million-dollar grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

A "How to" manual designed for Health Managers to set up and implement screening
The major outcome of this international effort is a tool that can be directly included by countries in their public health strategies in the field for implementation. "Planning and Implementing Cervical Cancer Prevention and Control Programs: A Manual for Managers" is a key output of ACCP’s work. This 300-page manual provides information to program managers on how to plan, establish, implement, strengthen and monitor cervical cancer prevention and treatment services, recognizing that various service delivery options are needed for different geographic and cultural settings and a range of resource levels.

A universal endorsement
Global health issues of this magnitude are a shared responsibility and require the concerted efforts of various international organizations with their diverse expertise. In recognition of this value, this manual has already been endorsed by the World Health Organization (Headquarters and Regional Office for Africa) and the International Network for Cancer and Treatment (INCTR). This pragmatic manual is not affected by political or commercial lobbying and presents the full spectrum of screening tests without favoring any of them.

Cervical cancer screening high on Global Health Agenda
In March 2005, for the first time in WHO’s history, a World Health Assembly resolution is going to be discussed to provide opportunity to reinforce comprehensive cancer policies and strategies among Member States. This is a crucial step at a time when effective programs do not exist in low-resources setting and when strategies are being reviewed in developed countries to maximize cost-effectiveness of existing screening programs. For this matter, this manual, together with 3 other IARC and WHO publications related to policy making or providers’ guidelines, will be very useful in providing a comprehensive resource package, based on current evidence, that encompasses policy, service delivery and clinical practice.

Paving the way for other public health interventions
More that a simple publication, this constitutes a unique example of a synergistic approach by various international agencies preparing a comprehensive strategy for cervical cancer prevention in the world. Such partnerships increase the potential to highlight cervical cancer as an important public health issue and enhance the global reach of the message and materials. The success of such a screening program is highly dependent on the widest possible dissemination to the country level, and this will be made possible thanks to free distribution of this manual to all interested parties, in three languages.


Facts & Figures
  • Burden of disease : 500,000 new cases, 230,000 deaths/year;
  • Cervix cancer is easily preventable;
  • Screening for cervix cancer can be cost-effective even in low-resource settings;
  • Most existing programs are ineffective, due to poor organization;
  • This Manual is the achievement of 5 years of experience in 50 countries;
  • It was endorsed by a unique partnership of 8 organizations with different fields of expertise and backgrounds;
  • It is planned for free worldwide dissemination in 3 languages.


For further details on the Manual, please inquire by e-mail to Dr Cédric Mahé, at .
You may download a .pdf version of the Manual from: ACCP_screen.pdf
More about ACCP at http://screening.iarc.fr/accp.php.
For more general information, contact Dr Nicolas Gaudin, Chief, Communications (
).
If you wish your name to be removed from our press release e-mailing list, please write to
.


World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr


Selected endorsements, in alphabetical order:

The WHO Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean is inviting its Member States to:
"Prioritize cervical cancer screening on the national agenda by stressing on establishing prevention programmes that include intense public education, information and cervical cancer awareness activities and to be an integral part of national cancer control programmes. Also, the Regional Office is urging countries to design and implement cost-effective services for screening and secure standard management for cervical cancer."
Dr Hussein Abdel-Razzak Al Gezairy, Regional Director
WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region

"The time is now to step up our global efforts to decrease the burden of cervical cancer where this disease takes the biggest toll. This manual 'Planning and Implementing Cervical Cancer Prevention and Control Programs: A Manual for Managers', provides a practical guide to assist in the implementation of prevention and early treatment programs, a much needed tool for those ready to make a serious effort to integrate a strategy into their health care system. EngenderHealth and the ACCP partnership remain committed to bringing solutions progressively closer to the situations where the need is greatest and the task the most difficult."
Dr Amy E. Pollack, President
EngenderHealth

"INCTR strongly endorses this excellent manual which provides a comprehensive tool that covers all aspects of the establishment of an effective cervical cancer prevention program.
Particularly valuable is its emphasis on how to develop a plan that takes into consideration local circumstances, maximizes available resources and pays due attention to cost effectiveness. This volume will play a vital role in bringing cervical cancer screening programs to those areas and populations where they are most needed."
Dr Ian Magrath, Director
International Network for Cancer Treatment and Research (INCTR)

"JHPIEGO, an Affiliate of Johns Hopkins University, is both pleased and proud to endorse "Planning and Implementing Cervical Cancer Prevention and Control Programs: A Manual for Managers", created by the joint efforts of the Alliance for Cervical Cancer Prevention. We are certain that this guide will significantly enhance the ability of program managers worldwide to implement more consistent and effective cervical cancer prevention programs."
Dr Leslie Mancuso, President and CEO
JHPIEGO

"Cervical Cancer accounts for a high percentage of cancer deaths in women in Latin America and the Caribbean – as high as 49.2 percent in Haiti, compared with 2.5 percent in North America. These high rates result from problems in access and quality of services. We have taken big steps in developing effective measures through our Cervical Cancer Prevention project in the Region. Now we must sustain this effort by advocating at the political level, technical, donor and community levels to ensure the inclusion of cervical cancer prevention on countries’ agendas. This Manual will help program managers in the Americas to better organize their current prevention activities."
Dr Mirta Roses, Director
Pan American Health Organization

"As coordinating agency of the Alliance for Cervical Cancer Prevention (ACCP), PATH is very pleased to join ACCP partners, WHO, and other agencies in launching, "Planning and Implementing Cervical Cancer Prevention and Control Programs: A Manual for Managers." This important new ACCP publication documents five years of experience in planning, implementing, and evaluating cervical cancer prevention programs in developing countries; this experience shows that cervical cancer prevention programs can be feasible, effective, and sustainable in a range of low-resource settings."
Dr Christopher J. Elias, President
PATH

"Developed countries in the Western Pacific Region have made great strides in the prevention of deaths from cervical cancer. Recent technologies bring effective screening programmes within the reach of developing countries, where this cancer kills thousands every year, especially among the poor. This manual, in turn, puts the new technologies within the reach of health system managers at all levels. This manual will save many lives if used properly. It is warmly welcomed in this Region."
Dr Shigeru Omi, Regional Director
WHO Western Pacific Region

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 156
16 decembre 2004 

UN CONSORTIUM D’AGENCES INTERNATIONALES DE SANTE PUBLIQUE LANCE UN OUTIL COMPLET POUR LA MISE EN ŒUVRE DE PROGRAMMES EFFICACES DE DEPISTAGE DU CANCER DU COL UTERIN DANS LE MONDE ENTIER
Femme traitée pour un cancer invasif du col utérin en Inde rurale, qui pourra continuer à soutenir
socialement et économiquement ses 6 enfants.

LUTTER CONTRE LES INEGALITES GRACE A LA PREVENTION DU CANCER DU COL

Le cancer du col utérin est le deuxième cancer le plus fréquent chez la femme dans le monde. Contrairement aux autres cancers, le cancer du col est aisément évitable grâce au dépistage et au traitement des lésions précancéreuses détectées. Il se prête donc potentiellement à une réduction très importante grâce à un dépistage bien organisé. Cette caractéristique en fait l’une des priorités de la lutte contre le cancer dans le monde.

Un fardeau énorme sur les plus vulnérables : les femmes pauvres du monde en développement
Chaque année, 500 000 femmes apprennent qu’elles sont atteintes d’un cancer du col utérin et 230 000 autres en meurent. L’immense majorité de ces femmes (80%) vivent dans des pays en développement. Ceci ajoute des souffrances évitables et impose un impact économique majeur aux plus démunis, à leur famille et à leur communauté.
Cette inégalité majeure en matière de santé est encore plus frappante lorsque l’on sait que des programmes de dépistage bien exécutés peuvent aisément prévenir le cancer du col, comme le démontre l’expérience de certains pays développés au cours des 50 dernières années.


Les programmes de dépistage bien organisés sont d’un bon rapport coût-efficacité, et ceci même dans des pays à faibles ressources
Des études multinationales ont montré que, lorsqu’ils sont bien organisés et suivis, les programmes de dépistage du cancer du col peu fréquents sont réellement d’un bon rapport coût-efficacité dans de nombreuses situations où les ressources font défaut. Malgré cela, à ce jour, très peu de programmes de dépistage efficaces existent dans ces situations. La plupart des programmes existants se traduisent par un gâchis de ressources déjà rares. Selon le Dr Peter Boyle, Directeur du CIRC : "Le cancer du col utérin est sans aucun doute une question de santé publique qui peut et doit trouver un remède grâce à une meilleure prise de conscience, au développement de politiques et à la mise en place de programmes de dépistage efficaces, tout en reconnaissant que le dépistage n’est que la première étape de la prise en charge d’une femme présentant une pathologie cervicale."

De l’observation à la méthodologie : mettre nos connaissances en pratique
Développer un outil global pour les gestionnaires de programmes de santé pour leur permettre une mise en place efficace et ainsi réduire le fardeau de la maladie a été une entreprise de grande ampleur. Cela requérait une expérience de terrain dans un grand nombre de régions et dans de nombreuses disciplines. Le résultat a été conforme aux attentes : cet outil méthodologique est à présent universellement adopté par les plus hautes autorités sanitaires. Il donne une réponse applicable et claire à une question de santé publique réelle qui affecte des millions de femmes : "Nous devons mettre nos connaissances en pratique pour le bénéfice des femmes et de leur famille dans les pays à faibles ressources", a poursuivi le Dr Boyle.

Partenariat mondial unique

Le partenariat est la clé
L’Alliance pour la Prévention du Cancer du Col utérin (ACCP) est un partenariat englobant cinq organisations sanitaires internationales : le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer de l’OMS (CIRC), Engenderhealth, JHPIEGO, PATH et l’Organisation pan-américaine de la Santé (OPS). Au cours des 5 dernières années, cette Alliance a œuvré dans plus de 50 pays pour identifier, promouvoir et mettre en place des stratégies de prévention du cancer du col qui soient efficaces, sûres et abordables financièrement dans des milieux à faibles ressources. Ceci a été rendu possible grâce à une subvention de 50 millions de dollars offerte par la Fondation Bill & Melinda Gates.

Un outil conçu pour les gestionnaires de santé pour organiser et mettre en œuvre le dépistage
Le résultat principal de cet effort international est un outil qui peut être incorporé directement par les pays dans leurs stratégies de santé publique sur le terrain pour être mis en œuvre. "Planning and Implementing Cervical Cancer Prevention and Control Programs: A Manual for Managers" est une production clé des travaux de l’ACCP. Ce manuel de 300 pages offre des informations aux gestionnaires de programmes sur la façon d’organiser, de créer, de mettre en œuvre, de renforcer et de surveiller les services de prévention et de traitement du cancer du col utérin, en reconnaissant que différentes possibilités de prestations de services sont nécessaires pour les différentes situations géographiques et culturelles et tout une gamme de niveaux de ressources.

Une adoption universelle
Des questions de santé de cette ampleur sont une responsabilité partagée et elles nécessitent les efforts concertés de différentes organisations internationales avec leurs diverses compétences. En reconnaissance de cette valeur, le manuel a déjà été adopté par l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (le Siège et le Bureau régional de l’Afrique) et l’International Network for Cancer Treatment and Research (INCTR). Ce manuel pratique n’est pas affecté par les groupes de pression politique ou commerciale et présente la totalité de la gamme des tests de dépistage sans favoirser l’un d’entre eux.

Le dépistage du cancer du col est une des priorités de l’Agenda de Santé au niveau mondial
En mars 2005, pour la première fois dans l’histoire de l’OMS, une résolution de l’Assemblée mondiale de la Santé sera discutée pour donner la possibilité de renforcer les politiques et les stratégies globales en matière de cancer dans les Etats Membres. Il s’agit-là d’une étape cruciale au moment où des programmes efficaces n’existent pas dans les pays à faibles ressources et où les stratégies dans les pays développés sont en cours de réexamen pour améliorer la rentabilité des programmes existants. Pour cette raison, ce manuel, avec trois autres publications du CIRC et de l’OMS liées aux directives décisionnaires ou à l’intention des prestataires, seront très utiles car ils constitueront un ensemble complet de ressources en la matière, fondés sur les informations les plus récentes, qui comprennent tous les aspects politiques de prestation de services et de pratiques cliniques.

Préparer le terrain pour d’autres interventions de santé publique
Plus qu’une simple publication, ce manuel constitue un exemple unqiue d’approche synergique empruntée par différentes institutions internationales préparant une stratégie complète pour la prévention du cancer du col dans le monde. De tels partenariats accroissent le potentiel permettant de placer le cancer du col au somment des priorités de santé publique et favorise la diffusion mondiale du message comme des matériels. Le succès d’un tel programme de dépistage dépend en très grande partie de la diffusion la plus large possible au niveau des pays, et ceci sera rendu possible grâce à une diffusion gratuite de ce manuel à toutes les parties intéressées, en trois langues.


Quelques faits et chiffres
  • Fardeau de la maladie : 500 000 nouveaux cas, 230 000 décès/an ;
  • Le cancer du col est aisément évitable ;
  • Le dépistage du cancer du col peut être rentable même dans des conditions de faibles ressources ;
  • La plupart des programmes existants sont inefficaces en raison d’une mauvaise organisation ;
  • Ce manuel est l’aboutissement de 5 ans d’expérience dans 50 pays ;
  • Il a été adopté par un partenariat unique de 8 organisations aux domaines de compétence et aux vocations différentes ;
  • Il est prévu de le diffuser gratuitement dans le monde entier en 3 langues.


Pour plus de détails sur ce manuel, veuillez envoyer un courriel au Dr Cédric Mahé, à .
On peut télécharger une version .pdf de ce Manuel à l’adresse suivante :

ACCP_screen.pdf
Plus de détails sur l’ACCP à l’adresse http://www.alliance-cxca.org.
Pour plus d’informations générales, contacter le Dr Nicolas Gaudin, Chef, Communication ( ).
Si vous ne souhaitez plus recevoir les communiqués de presse du CIRC, veuillez l’indiquer en écrivant à


World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr



Témoignages, en ordre alphabétique:

Le Bureau régional OMS pour la Méditerranée orientale invite ses Etats Membres à :
"Placer le dépistage du cancer du col au nombre des priorités des agendas nationaux en soulignant l’importance de la création de programmes de prévention qui comprennent une éducation publique intense, une information et des activités d’éducation en matière de cancer du col et en même temps font partie intégrante des programmes nationaux de lutte contre le cancer. En outre, le Bureau régional demande instamment aux pays de concevoir et de mettre en œuvre des services rentables en matière de dépistage et de prise en charge standard sûrs pour le cancer du col utérin."
Dr Hussein Abdel-Razzak Al Gezairy, Directeur régional
WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region

"Il s’agit aujourd’hui d’accélérer nos efforts mondiaux pour réduire le fardeau du cancer du col utérin là où cette maladie fait le plus de ravages. Ce manuel 'Planning and Implementing Cervical Cancer Prevention and Control Programs: A Manual for Managers', consiste en un guide pratique pour aider à la mise en place de programmes de prévention et de traitement précoce, un outil très nécessaire pour ceux qui sont prêts à faire un effort sérieux pour intégrer une stratégie dans leur système de soins de santé. EngenderHealth et le partenariat ACCP s’engagent à apporter des solutions de façon progressive au plus prêt des situations où le besoin est le plus grand et la tâche la plus difficile."
Dr Amy E. Pollack, Président
EngenderHealth

"L’INCTR souscrit avec force à cet excellent manuel qui offre un outil complet couvrant tous les aspects de la création d’un programme de prévention efficace contre les cancers du col.
Une de ses principales valeurs est sa façon d’insister sur la façon de développer un plan qui prend en considération les situations locales, optimise les ressources disponibles et s’intéresse comme il se doit à la rentabilité. Ce volume jouera un rôle vital pour amener les programmes de dépistage du cancer du col dans les régions auprès des populations où ils sont les plus nécessaires."
Dr Ian Magrath, Directeur
International Network for Cancer Treatment and Research (INCTR)

"JHPIEGO, affiliée à l’Université Johns Hopkins, est tout à la fois heureuse et fière de soutenir "Planning and Implementing Cervical Cancer Prevention and Control Programs: A Manual for Managers", créé par les efforts conjoints de l’Alliance pour la Prévention du Cancer du Col utérin. Nous sommes convaincus que ce guide améliorera de façon importante la capacité des gestionnaires de programmes dans le monde à mettre en œuvre des programmes de prévention efficaces et cohérents contre les cancers du col utérin"
Dr Leslie Mancuso, Président et PDG
JHPIEGO

"Le cancer du col représente un pourcentage élevé des décès par cancer chez les femmes d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes (allant jusqu’à 49,2 % à Haïti, par rapport à 2,5 % en Amérique du Nord. Ces taux très élevés résultent de problèmes d’accès et de qualité des services. Nous avons faits d’importants progrès pour développer des mesures efficaces grâce au projet de prévention du cancer du col utérin dans la Région. A présent, nous devons soutenir cet effort en appuyant ces mesures au niveau politique, technique, communautaire et au niveau des donateurs pour faire en sorte que la prévention du col sera incorporée aux agendas des différents pays. Ce manuel aidera les gestionnaires de programmes dans les Amériques à mieux organiser leurs activités de prévention actuelles."
Dr Mirta Roses, Directeur
Pan American Health Organization

"Comme Agence coordinatrice de l’Alliance pour la Prévention du Cancer du Col utérin (ACCP), PATH a le grand plaisir de se joindre à ses partenaires de l’ACCP, à l’OMS, et à d’autres agences pour lancer "Planning and Implementing Cervical Cancer Prevention and Control Programs: A Manual for Managers." Cette importante nouvelle publication de l’ACCP représente cinq années d’expérience en matière de planification, de mise en œuvre et d’évaluation des programmes de prévention du cancer du col utérin dans les pays en développement ; cette expérience montre que les programmes de prévention du cancer du col peuvent être réalisables, efficaces et durables dans un grand nombre de situations où les ressources font défaut."
Dr Christopher J. Elias, Président
PATH

"Les pays développés de la Région pacifique occidentale ont fait de grands progrès dans la prévention des décès par cancer du col utérin. Les technologies les plus récentes mettent les programmes de dépistage efficaces à la portée des pays en développement où ce cancer tue des milliers de femmes chaque année, notamment parmi les plus pauvres. Ce manuel, à son tour met les nouvelles technologies à la portée des gestionnaires de systèmes de santé à tous les niveaux. Ce manuel sauvera de nombreuses vies s’il est utilisé comme il convient. Il est accueilli avec enthousiasme dans cette Région."
Dr Shigeru Omi, Directeur régional
WHO Western Pacific Region