PRESS RELEASE
N° 161
9 April 2005 

Abnormal DNA damage response is the cause of neuronal defects in tumor-prone disorders.

NBS linked to degenerative disease
Nijmegen Breakage Syndrome (NBS) is a rare autosomal recessive disease characterized by microcephaly, chromosomal instability, radiosensitivity, immunodeficiency and cancer predisposition. NBS, Ataxia Telangiectasia (A-T) and AT-Like Disorder (A-TLD) constitute a sub-group of chromosome instability syndromes, which exhibit very similar clinical features, with further obligatory characteristics of cerebellar degeneration and ataxia in A-T and A-TLD patients. Cellular defects in these patients include radio-sensitivity, chromosome instability and cell cycle checkpoint defects. Although the genes responsible for Nijmegen Breakage Syndrome (NBS1), Ataxia-Telangiectasia (ATM) and AT-like disorder (MRE11) are distinct, these diseases share similar clinical and cellular characteristics, with distinct neurological anomalies. There is a missing puzzle piece in the molecular network linking these genetic disorders. Extensive molecular and cellular studies have shown that molecules encoded by these genes play a central role in DNA damage response, whose abrogation lead to more severe degenerative diseases usually characterized by cancer predisposition. Investigation of the DNA damage response is thus a major area of cancer research.

Depletion of DNA-repair molecule induces overactivation of p53 in the lab mouse
In a laboratory-based study at IARC, Dr Zhao-Qi Wang and his colleagues demonstrate that by specific gene disruption technology, the depletion of DNA double strand break repair molecule NBS1 in the mouse neural lineage results in a combination of the neurological anomalies of NBS, A-T and A-TLD due to over-activation of p53, the master tumour suppressor. They show for the first time that the neurological anomalies observed in chromosome instability syndromes NBS, A-T and A-TLD are due to abnormal DNA damage response. These laboratory findings from animal models uncover that deficiency of DNA repair is an aetiological factor in the pathogenesis of neurological degeneration diseases. These findings appear in Nature Medicine, online on 10 April 2005.

Epidemiological studies point to development of cancer in patients affected
Epidemiological and clinical studies have proposed that deficiency in the NBS1 function represents an important risk factor in the development of malignancies in NBS patients as well as in heterozygous carriers.

Public health consequences of some genotoxic treatment significant
Because the average carrier frequency of the NBS1 founder mutation is 1 in 177 among newborns in Slav populations in Central and Eastern Europe, even a moderately elevated cancer risk in heterozygous carriers could potentially result in several hundreds of new cancer cases in these populations. Therefore, it is important to note that any genotoxic treatment of the patients suffering from chromosome instability syndromes may well increase the risk of developing neuronal degeneration symptoms. Much more research is needed on these potential effects.



Reference:

Pierre-Olivier Frappart, Wei-Min Tong, Ilja Demuth, Ivan Radovanovic, Zdenko Herceg, Adriano Aguzzi, Martin Digweed and Zhao-Qi Wang. An essential function for NBS1 in the prevention of ataxia and cerebellar defects. Nature Medicine DOI: 10.1038/nm1228 (2005).



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 161
9 avril 2005 

Une réponse anormale aux lésions de l'ADN est la cause de défauts neuronaux dans les troubles favorisant les tumeurs.

NBS lié à la maladie dégénérative
Le syndrome de Nimègue (NBS) est une maladie autosomique récessive rare qui se caractérise par une microcéphalie, une instabilité chromosomique, une radiosensibilité, une immunodéficience et une prédisposition au cancer. Le NBS, l’ataxie télangiectasie (A-T) et le syndrome ataxie télangiectasie-like (A-TLD) constituent un sous-groupe de syndromes liés à l’instabilité chromosomique, qui montrent des traits cliniques très proches, avec des caractéristiques supplémentaires obligatoires de dégénérescence cérébelleuse et l’ataxie chez les patients atteints d’A-T et d’A-TLD. Les déficicences cellulaires chez ces patients sont une radiosensibilité, une instabilité chromosomique et des défauts des points de contrôle du cycle cellulaire. Bien que les gènes responsables du syndrome de Nimègue (NBS1), de l’ataxie-télangiectasie (ATM) et du syndrome ataxie-télangiectasie-like (MRE11) soient distincts, ces maladies partagent des traits cliniques et cellulaires semblables, avec des anomalies neurologiques distinctes. Une pièce du puzzle fait cependant défaut dans le réseau moléculaire reliant ces syndromes génétiques. Des études moléculaires et cellulaires très poussées ont montré que les molécules encodées par ces gènes jouent un rôle crucial dans la réponse aux lésions de l’ADN, dont l’abrogation entraîne des maladies dégénératives plus sévères, qui se caractérisent le plus souvent par une prédisposition au cancer. Les recherches sur la réponse aux lésions de l’ADN sont par conséquent un domaine majeur de la recherche sur le cancer.

La déplétion des molécules de réparation de l’ADN induit une suractivation de p53 chez la souris de laboratoire
Dans une étude de laboratoire menée au CIRC, le Dr Zhao-Qi Wang et ses collègues démontrent qu’à l’aide d’une technique permettant le dérèglement de gènes particuliers, la déplétion de la molécule de réparation des cassures de l’ADN double-brin (NBS1) dans le lignage neural provoque une combinaison des anomalies neurologiques du NBS, de l’A-T et de l’A-TLD en raison d’une suractivation de p53, le suppresseur de tumeur majeur. Ils montrent pour la première fois que les anomalies neurologiques observées dans les syndromes liés à l’instabilité chromosomique que sont le NBS, l’A-T et l’A-TLD sont dus à une réponse anormale aux lésions de l’ADN. Ces résultats de laboratoire portant sur des modèles animaux montrent qu’une déficience de la réparation de l’ADN est un facteur étiologique dans la pathogenèse des maladies de la dégénérescence neurologique. Ces résultats paraissent dans Nature Medicine en ligne le 10 avril 2005.

Les études épidémiologiques montrent le développement de cancers chez les patients affectés
Des études épidémiologiques et cliniques ont avancé qu’une déficience de la fonction de NBS1 représente un facteur de risque important dans le développement d’affections malignes chez les patients atteints de NBS de même que chez les porteurs hétérozygotes.


Les conséquences de certains traitements génotoxiques potentiellement importantes pour la santé publique
Etant donné que la fréquence moyenne du portage de la mutation fondatrice de NBS1 est de un sur 177 nouveau-nés dans les populations slaves en Europe centrale et orientale, même un risque de cancer modérément élevé chez les porteurs hétérozygotes pourrait potentiellement aboutir à plusieurs centaines de nouveaux cas de cancer dans ces populations. Il est par conséquent important de noter que tout traitement génotoxique de patients atteints de syndromes liés à une instabilité chromosomique pourrait bien accroître le risque de développer des symptomes de dégénérescence neuronale. Des recherches beaucoup plus poussées sont donc maintenant nécessaires pour élucider ces effets potentiels et éviter le développement de tumeurs.



Référence : Pierre-Olivier Frappart, Wei-Min Tong, Ilja Demuth, Ivan Radovanovic, Zdenko Herceg, Adriano Aguzzi, Martin Digweed and Zhao-Qi Wang. An essential function for NBS1 in the prevention of ataxia and cerebellar defects. Nature Medicine DOI: 10.1038/nm1228 (2005).



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr