PRESS RELEASE
N° 162
18 May 2005 

Iodine Deficiency and Supplementation Affect Thyroid Cancer Risk in Children Exposed to Radioactive Iodine

Radioactive iodine 131 linked to increased risk of thyroid cancer
Exposure to radioactive iodine 131 (I-131) in childhood is associated with an increased risk of thyroid cancer, and both iodine deficiency and supplementation appear to modify this risk, according to a new study in the May 18 issue of the Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

IARC led international study
To evaluate the risk of thyroid cancer after exposure to radioactive iodine in childhood and investigate factors that might modify this risk, Dr Elisabeth Cardis, of the WHO International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) in Lyon, France, and colleagues from Belarus, Russia, as well as from IARC, Germany, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, the UK and the USA conducted a case-control study of 276 thyroid cancer patients and 1,300 control subjects in Belarus and the Russian Federation who were younger than 15 at the time of the Chernobyl accident.

Huge increase in thyroid cancers in young people after Chernobyl disaster
The accident at the Chernobyl nuclear power plant in April 1986 resulted in widespread radioactive contamination, particularly in parts of Belarus, the Russian Federation, and the Ukraine. For people living in these areas, the main radiation dose was to the thyroid and came from exposure to I-131. (The thyroid uses iodine to make thyroid hormone.) It has been estimated that the thyroids of several thousand children in Belarus received radioactive I-131 doses of at least 2 Gy. (For comparison, doses to the thyroid from background radiation from natural sources are of the order of 1 to 2 mGy per year.) Said Cardis : "A very large increase in the incidence of thyroid cancer in young people was observed as early as 5 years after the accident in Belarus and slightly later in the Russian Federation and the Ukraine.
Although this increase has been attributed to fallout from the accident, questions remained about the magnitude of the risk related to I-131 and to the potential modifying effect of iodine deficiency, which was common in most of the affected areas at the time of the Chernobyl accident."

Role of radiation in the reported increase
Dr Cardis said the group "observed a strong dose-response relationship between radiation dose to the thyroid received during childhood and the risk of thyroid cancer. The risk was mainly attributable to I-131 and appeared to be similar in magnitude to that seen following external radiation exposures to X and gamma rays."

Role of iodine deficiency and supplementation in children exposed to I-131
This risk was three times higher in iodine-deficient areas than in other areas. Use of potassium iodide as a dietary supplement reduced that risk by a factor of three compared with no supplementation.


Both iodine deficiency and iodine supplementation appear to be important and independent modifiers of the risk of thyroid cancer after exposure to I-131 in childhood. Said Cardis: "This result has important public health implications in the case of exposure to radioactive iodines in childhood that may occur after radiation accidents or during medical diagnostic and therapeutic procedures." Indeed, stable iodine supplementation in iodine-deficient populations may reduce the subsequent risk of radiation-related thyroid cancer in these situations," the authors write.



Citation: Cardis E, Kesminiene A, Ivanov V, Malakhova I, Shibata Y, Khrouch V, et al. Risk of Thyroid Cancer After Exposure to 131I in Childhood. J Natl Cancer Inst 2005;97:TKTK.

Note: The Journal of the National Cancer Institute is published by Oxford University Press and is not affiliated with the National Cancer Institute. Attribution to the Journal of the National Cancer Institute is requested in all news coverage. Visit the Journal online at http://jncicancerspectrum.oupjournals.org/.



Contacts :
IARC Communications, Dr Nicolas Gaudin
or
Dr Elisabeth Cardis


World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 162
18 mai 2005 

Carence et supplémentation iodée ont une influence sur le risque de cancer chez les enfants exposés à l’iode radioactif

L’iode 131 radioactif associé au risque de cancer thyroïdien
L’exposition à l’iode 131 radioactif (I-131) dans l’enfance est associée à un risque accru de cancer de la thyroïde, et la carence en iode, de même qu’une supplémentation iodée, semblent modifer ce risque, selon une nouvelle étude publiée dans le numéro du 18 mai du Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

Une étude internationale coordonnée par le CIRC
Pour évaluer le risque de cancer de la thyroïde consécutif à une exposition à l’iode radioactif dans l’enfance, et étudier les facteurs qui pourraient influencer ce risque, le Dr Elisabeth Cardis, du Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC) de l’OMS, basé à Lyon (France) et ses collègues du Bélarus et de Russie, ainsi que d’Allemagne, du CIRC, des Etats-Unis, d’Italie, du Japon, de Lituanie et du Royaume-Uni, ont mené une étude cas-témoins sur 276 patients atteints de cancer de la thyroïde et 1 300 témoins au Bélarus et en Fédération de Russie, âgés de moins de 15 ans au moment de l’accident de Tchernobyl.

Dramatique augmentation des cancers de la thyroïde chez les jeunes après la catastrophe de Tchernobyl
L’accident survenu à la centrale atomique de Tchernobyl en avril 1986 a eu pour conséquence une contamination radioactive étendue notamment au Bélarus, en Fédération de Russie et en Ukraine. Pour les populations vivant dans ces régions, la principale dose de rayonnement a été subie par la thyroïde et provenait d’une exposition à l’I-131 (La thyroïde utilise l’iode pour fabriquer l’hormone thyroïdienne). Il a également été estimé que les doses d’I-131 radioactif reçues par des milliers d’enfants au Bélarus étaient d’au moins 2 Grays (Par comparaison, les doses à la thyroïde dues au rayonnement de fond de sources naturelles sont de l’ordre de 1 à 2 mGy par an). Selon le Dr Cardis : "On a observé une très forte augmentation de l’incidence des cancers de la thyroïde chez les jeunes, 5 ans déjà après l’accident au Bélarus et un peu plus tard en Fédération de Russie et en Ukraine. Bien que cette augmentation ait été imputée aux retombées de l’accident, des questions demeurent quant à l’ampleur du risque lié à l’I-131 et à l’effet potentiellement modificateur de la carence en iode, carence fréquente dans la plupart des zones touchées au moment de l’accident de Tchernobyl".


Rôle des rayonnements dans l’augmentation rapportée
Le Dr Cardis indique que le groupe "a observé une forte relation dose-effet entre la dose d’irradiation à la thyroïde reçue dans l’enfance et le risque de cancer de la thyroïde. Le risque est principalement imputable à l’I-131 et semble être du même ordre que celui qui est observé à la suite d’expositions aux rayonnements externes aux rayons X et gamma."


Rôle de la carence en iode et de la supplémentaion iodée chez les enfants exposés à l’I-131
Ce risque était trois fois plus élevé dans les régions affectées par une carence en iode que dans d’autres régions. La supplémentation alimentaire en iodure de potassium a divisé le risque de cancer thyroïdien radio-induit par trois par rapport à une absence de supplémentation.


La carence en iode et la supplémentation iodée semblent jouer un rôle modificateur important et indépendant l’un de l’autre sur le risque de cancer de la thyroïde après exposition à l’I-131 dans l’enfance. Toujours selon le Dr Cardis : "Ce résultat a d’importantes conséquences pour la santé publique dans le cas de l’exposition aux iodes radioactifs dans l’enfance qui peut survenir après des accidents nucléaires ou au cours de procédures diagnostiques ou thérapeutiques". En effet, une supplémentation en iode stable dans les populations carencées en iode peut réduire le risque ultérieur de cancer thyroïdien radio-induit dans cette situation", selon les auteurs.



Citation : Cardis E, Kesminiene A, Ivanov V, Malakhova I, Shibata Y, Khrouch V, et al. Risk of Thyroid Cancer After Exposure to 131I in Childhood. J Natl Cancer Inst 2005;97:TKTK.

Note : Le Journal of the National Cancer Institute est une publication de Oxford University Press et n’est pas affilié au National Cancer Institute des Etats-Unis d’Amérique. Merci d’indiquer comme source le Journal of the National Cancer Institute dans toute couverture presse/média. On retrouvera le Journal en ligne, à http://jncicancerspectrum.oupjournals.org/.


Contact :
Groupe Communication du CIRC, Dr Nicolas Gaudin, à

Dr Elisabeth Cardis , à


World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr