PRESS RELEASE
N° 166
30 June 2005 

LOW DOSES OF RADIATION LINKED TO SMALL INCREASE IN CANCER RISK

Current radiation protection standards based on exposure to A-Bomb

The standards used for radiation protection around the world today are primarily based on an extrapolation of risk estimates derived from studies of the survivors of atomic bombings in Hiroshima and Nagasaki in August 1945. The main issue of concern however is the protection of the general public and of occupationally exposed workers, who generally receive much lower doses, protracted over many years.

For Dr Elisabeth Cardis, of the IARC Radiation Group, "There has been a controversy for decades about the use of data on A-bomb survivors for setting standards for the protection of the general public and radiation workers. There was therefore a need for a direct assessment of the carcinogenic effects of low-dose exposures to evaluate the adequacy of these standards."

IARC–led international cohort study conducted to confirm these standards

To this effect, a retrospective cohort study was coordinated by the WHO’s International Agency for Research on Cancer to estimate the risk of cancer death, including leukaemia, after low-level exposure to high energy photon (gamma-ray) radiation in a worldwide population of over 400,000 nuclear industry workers in 15 countries(1). Individual real-time measurements of external radiation dose were available for all workers. This is the largest study of nuclear industry workers ever carried out.

Nuclear industry workers scrutinized

This study was restricted only to workers who wore a radiation dosimeter or badge, and who worked for at least one year in the nuclear industry in one of 15 countries. Included were persons who worked in nuclear power plants, in nuclear research or waste management, or in the production of nuclear fuel, isotopes or weapons. Workers who might have had substantial neutron or internal (for example, plutonium) exposure were excluded because these exposures may have been poorly measured in the past.

Most of the workers were men (90%), and the average total workplace dose was about 19 millisievert (mSv, which corresponds to 1.9 rem) per worker. Only about 6% of the international cohort was found to be deceased, with a total of 6519 deaths from cancers other than leukaemia and 196 deaths from leukaemia other than chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (CLL).

Risk estimates per level of radiation dose were calculated for deaths from all cancers excluding leukaemia and from leukaemia excluding chronic lymphocytic leukaemia, the main causes of death on which radiation protection standards are based.


Small but significant radiation related increase in cancer mortality

The risk estimates from this study are statistically similar to those of the atomic bomb survivor data. Overall, based on the risks found in this study, 1 to 2% of deaths from cancer (including leukaemia) among the workers studied may have been caused by radiation exposure. Many of the subjects in this study worked in the early years of the industry when doses tended to be higher than they are today, however. Only a small proportion of cancer deaths would therefore be expected to occur from low-dose chronic exposures to X- and gamma- radiation among current nuclear workers and in the general population.

The excess relative risk (ERR) for cancers other than leukaemia was statistically significantly elevated (0.97 per Sv, 95% Confidence Interval, 0.14-1.97). Analyses of smoking and non-smoking related causes of death indicate that, although confounding by smoking may be present, it is unlikely to explain all of this increased risk. The excess relative risk for leukaemia excluding chronic lymphocytic leukaemia was 1.93 per Sv (95% Confidence Interval, <0-8.47).

Conclusion

The main result from this study is that there appears to be a small increase in cancer risk even at the low doses and dose-rates typically received by nuclear workers in this study.

Said Dr Boyle, Director of the IARC: "These results provide the most precise and comprehensive direct estimates of cancer risk after protracted exposure to low doses of ionising radiation; they strengthen the scientific basis of radiation protection standards for environmental, occupational, and medical diagnostic exposures. They support current evidence on the carcinogenic potential of ionising radiation yet provide reassurance concerning the likely impact of ionising radiation on the global cancer burden".


(1) The study included workers from Australia, Belgium, Canada, Finland, France, Hungary, Japan, South Korea, Lithuania, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK, and the US.


Risk of cancer after low doses of ionising radiation - retrospective cohort study in 15 countries, British Medical Journal Online First, accessible at:
http://bmj.bmjjournals.com/onlinefirst_date.shtml.


For further details, contact: Dr Elisabeth Cardis, IARC Radiation Group, or Dr Gaudin, IARC Communications Group, at .


Further details about the study and a fuller explanation of the technical terms used above (e.g. Sievert, ERR, CI, etc.) can be found here.

World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 166
30 juin 2005 

LES FAIBLES DOSES DE RAYONNEMENTS ASSOCIEES A UNE LEGERE AUGMENTATION DU RISQUE DE CANCER

Les normes actuelles de radioprotection s’appuient sur l'exposition aux bombes atomiques

Les normes actuelles utilisées en matière de radioprotection dans le monde s’appuient essentiellement sur une extrapolation des estimations de risque dérivées des études menées sur les survivants des bombardements atomiques d’Hiroshima et de Nagasaki en août 1945.
Mais le principal sujet de préoccupation concerne aujourd’hui davantage la protection du grand public et des travailleurs exposés de par leur emploi, qui reçoivent le plus souvent des doses beaucoup plus faibles, sur de nombreuses années.

Pour le Dr Elisabeth Cardis, du groupe Rayonnements au Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer de l’OMS, "depuis plusieurs décennies, l’utilisation des données portant sur les survivants des bombes atomiques pour fixer les normes de protection pour le grand public et les travailleurs du nucléaire fait l’objet de controverses. Il était par conséquent nécessaire de procéder à une évaluation directe des effets cancérogènes des expositions aux faibles doses pour évaluer la validité de ces normes".

Une étude de cohorte internationale menée par le CIRC pour confirmer ces normes

A cet effet, une étude rétrospective de cohorte a été coordonnée par le CIRC, pour estimer le risque de décès par cancer, y compris la leucémie, après une exposition à de faibles niveaux de rayonnements photons de haute énergie (rayons gamma). L’étude a porté sur une population de plus de 400 000 travailleurs du nucléaire dans 15 pays(1). Des mesures individuelles des doses de rayonnements externes, effectuées en temps réel, étaient disponibles pour tous les travailleurs. Il s’agit là de la plus grande étude jamais menée sur les travailleurs de l’industrie nucléaire.

Les travailleurs de l’industrie nucléaire sous la loupe

Cette étude était limitée aux travailleurs qui portaient un dosimètre, et qui ont travaillé au moins une année dans l’industrie nucléaire dans l’un des 15 pays concernés. Sont inclus les personnes qui ont travaillé dans des centrales nucléaires, dans la recherche ou la gestion de déchets nucléaires, ou dans la production de carburant, d’isotopes ou d’armement nucléaire. Les travailleurs susceptibles d’avoir reçu une exposition interne (due par exemple au plutonium) ou neutron substantielle ont été exclus parce que ces expositions pouvaient avoir été mal mesurées par le passé.

La plupart des travailleurs étaient des hommes (90%), et la dose moyenne totale sur le lieu de travail était d’environ 19 millisieverts (mSv, qui correspondent à 1,9 rem) par travailleur. Seulement près de 6% de la cohorte internationale était décédée, avec un total de 6 519 décès par cancers autres que la leucémie et 196 décès de leucémies autres que la leucémie lymphocytaire chronique.

Des estimations de risque par niveau de dose de rayonnements ont été réalisées pour deux groupes de causes de décès : les décès par tous cancers hors leucémie et les décès par leucémie hors leucémie lymphocytaire chronique ; il s’agit des regroupements de causes de décès sur lesquels sont fondées les normes de radioprotection.

Une augmentation faible mais significative de la mortalité par cancer liée aux rayonnements

Les estimations de risque de cette étude sont statistiquement compatibles avec celles des données portant sur les survivants des bombes atomiques. Globalement, sur la base des risques mis en évidence dans cette étude, 1 à 2% des décès par cancer (y compris la leucémie) chez les travailleurs étudiés peuvent avoir été provoqués par leur exposition aux rayonnements. Nombre des sujets de cette étude travaillaient dans les débuts de l’industrie, où les doses tendaient cependant à être plus élevées qu’elles ne le sont aujourd’hui. Seule une faible proportion des décès par cancer devrait par conséquent survenir en relation à des expositions chroniques à de faibles doses de rayonnements X et gamma chez les travailleurs actuels du nucléaire et dans la population générale.

L’excès de risque relatif (ERR) pour les cancers autres que la leucémie était élevé, de façon statistiquement significative (0,97 par Sv, intervalle de confiance à 95 %, 0,14-1,97). Des analyses des causes de décès liées ou non au tabagisme indiquent que, bien qu’on ne puisse éliminer un facteur de confusion lié au tabagisme, il est peu probable qu’il explique la totalité de cette augmentation de risque. L’excès de risque relatif pour la leucémie hors leucémie lymphocytaire chronique était de 1,93 par Sv (Intervalle de confiance à 95 %, <0-8,47).

Conclusion

Le principal résultat de cette étude est qu’il semble y avoir une légère augmentation du risque de cancer, même aux faibles doses et débits de dose généralement reçus par les travailleurs du nucléaire dans cette étude.

Selon le Dr Boyle, Directeur du CIRC, "ces résultats apportent les estimations directes les plus précises et complètes du risque de cancer après exposition à de faibles doses de rayonnements ionisants reçues de manière prolongée; ils renforcent la base scientifique des normes de radioprotection pour les expositions environnementales, professionnelles et diagnostiques. Ils étayent les indications actuelles liées au potentiel cancérogène des rayonnements ionisants mais sont rassurants en ce qui concerne l’impact probable des rayonnements ionisants sur le fardeau mondial du cancer".


(1) Cette étude regroupait des travailleurs d’Australie, de Belgique, du Canada, de Corée du Sud, d’Espagne, des Etats-Unis d’Amérique, de Finlande, de France, de Hongrie, du Japon, de Lituanie, du Royaume-Uni, de Slovaquie, de Suède et de Suisse.

Risk of cancer after low doses of ionising radiation - retrospective cohort study in 15 countries, British Medical Journal Online First, accessible à :
http://www.bmj.com/content/331/7508/77.


Pour plus de détails, contacter : Dr Elisabeth Cardis, Groupe Rayonnements du CIRC, à ou Nicolas Gaudin, Groupe Communication, à .

Pour plus de details sur l'étude et une explication plus complète des termes techniques employés (Sievert, excès de risque relatif, intervalle de confiance, etc.), voir ici.


World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr