PRESS RELEASE
N° 171
29 November 2006 


Sunbed use in youth unequivocally associated with skin cancer

In October 2004, the French Ministry of Health contacted Dr Peter Boyle, the Director of the IARC(1), raising a particular concern about the continuous increase in incidence of melanoma in France and in the world. Melanoma is the most deadly form of skin cancer. For reference, while Europe registers 10-15 cases per 100,000 population and per year, Australia has an incidence of 50 cases/100,000 population every year. Melanoma is on the increase everywhere in the world and the number of cases doubles every 12-15 years in the most affected areas.

In 1992, an IARC Working Group made a thorough review of the available scientific data and concluded that solar radiation is carcinogenic to humans (Group 1)(2). Solar radiation causes cutaneous melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancer. However, there is still uncertainty surrounding the role of exposure to artificial sources of UV radiation, i.e. from the use of sunbeds or sunlamps in tanning parlours, in the aetiology of skin cancer.

IARC Review of the literature

To respond to these concerns, IARC convened an international Working Group(3) that assessed the available evidence relating to health effects, both positive and detrimental, of exposure to artificial UV radiation through the use of indoor tanning facilities, in particular whether their use increases the risk for skin cancer.

Assessment

Epidemiologic studies do not provide consistent evidence that use of indoor tanning facilities in general is associated with the development of melanoma or non-melanoma skin cancer(4). There are various technical explanations for this conclusion. Firstly, knowledge of levels of UV exposure during indoor tanning is very imprecise. Furthermore, early studies published had low power to detect long-term associations with artificial UV exposure that become evident only following a prolonged lag period. "Considering simultaneously all the available data", Dr Boyle said, "made it possible for us to reach a number of clear conclusions."

Conclusions

1. Clear increase in melanoma risk associated with use of sunbeds in teens and twenties
The data showed a prominent and consistent increase in risk for melanoma in people who first used sunbeds in their twenties or teen years: a 75% increase in risk of melanoma was calculated for such users of artificial tanning appliances, while this increase in the general population, although not statistically significant, is still not negligible.

2. Increase in risk of squamous cell cancer (SCC) of the skin associated with use of sunbeds in teens
Limited data suggest that the risk of squamous cell carcinoma is similarly increased after first use as a teenager.

3. Immune system affected
Data also suggest detrimental effects from use of sunbeds on the skin's immune response and possibly on the eyes (ocular melanoma).

4. No positive health effects
Artificial tanning confers little if any protection against solar damage to the skin, nor does use of indoor tanning facilities grant protection against vitamin D deficiency. Data also suggest detrimental effects from use of indoor tanning facilities on the skin's immune response and possibly on the eyes (ocular melanoma).

Public Health message

Dr Boyle concluded that "while IARC's mandate is one of scientific expertise and assessment of epidemiologic risk, in view of the strength and seriousness of the findings, effective action to restrict access to artificial tanning facilities (solariums, tanning salons, tanning parlours) to minors and young adults should be strongly considered."


Notes:

(1) The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) is part of the World Health Organization. Its mission is to coordinate and conduct research on the causes of human cancer, the mechanisms of carcinogenesis, and to develop scientific strategies for cancer control. The mandate of the world cancer research agency is to coordinate international research to take advantage of synergies and disseminate scientific information through publications, meetings, courses, and fellowships.

(2) UV radiations A, B and C were all three independently rated as probably carcinogenic to humans by the IARC Working Group in 1992. In addition, they concluded that the "use of sunlamps and sunbeds entails exposures that are probably carcinogenic to humans (Group 2A)". While natural UV radiation does indeed stimulate the production of indispensable vitamin D, exposure to natural sun light should be moderate, and in any case artificial UV radiation exposure, as provided by sunbed exposure, should be avoided at all cost.

(3) The members of the Working Group were: Dr Philippe Autier1, Dr Mathieu Boniol1, Dr Peter Boyle1, Dr Jean-Francois Doré2, Dr Sara Gandini3, Dr Adele Green (Chair)4, Dr Julia Newton-Bishop5, Dr Martin A. Weinstock6, Dr Johan Westerdahl7, Dr Béatrice Secretan (Coordinator)1, Dr Stephen Walter8. Their conclusions are being published online by the International Journal of Cancer

1IARC - 2INSERM U590, Centre Léon Bérard, Lyon, France - 3 European Institute of Oncology, Milan, Italy - 4Queensland Institute of Medical Research, Australia - 5Cancer Research UK - 6Brown University Medical School - USA - 7 Lund University Hospital - Sweden [unable to attend] - 8McMaster University - Ontario, Canada

(4) There are three main types of cancers of the skin: Basal cell carcinoma (BCC) is the most common form of cancer and the least aggressive. Basal cells are cells that line the deepest layer of the epidermis. A tumor of this layer is known as basal cell carcinoma. The sun is responsible for over 90 percent of all skin cancers, including BCC, and chronic overexposure to sunlight is the cause for most cases of basal cell carcinoma. BCCs occur most frequently on the face, ears, neck, scalp, shoulders, and back. Squamous cell cancer (SCC) is a malignant tumor. It is more aggressive than basal cell cancer, and is more likely than basal cell cancer to metastasize. Melanoma is the most dangerous type of skin cancer. It involves the cells that produce pigment (melanin), which is responsible for skin and hair color. The development of melanoma is related to sun exposure, particularly to sunburns during childhood, and is most common among people with fair skin, blue or green eyes, and red or blond hair.





World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer


Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer


150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 171
29 novembre 2006 


L'utilisation des bancs solaires chez les jeunes clairement associée au cancer de la peau

Historique

En Octobre 2004, le Ministère francais de la Santé a contacté le Dr Peter Boyle, Directeur du CIRC(1), exprimant sa préoccupation devant l'augmentation continue de l'incidence du mélanome en France et dans le monde. Le mélanome est la forme la plus meurtrière de cancer cutané. Pour référence, quand l'Europe enregistre 10 a 15 cas de mélanomes pour 100 000 habitants et par an, l'Australie en compte 50. Le mélanome est en augmentation partout dans le monde et le nombre de cas double tous les 12 a 15 ans dans les régions les plus affectées.

En 1992, un Groupe de travail du CIRC a réalisé un examen complet des données scientifiques disponibles et a conclu que le rayonnement solaire est cancérogène pour l'homme (Groupe 1)(2). Le rayonnement solaire provoque le mélanome cutané et le cancer cutané non mélanome. Cependant, une incertitude plane encore sur le rôle que joue l'exposition aux sources artificielles de rayonnements, à savoir l'utilisation de bancs ou de lampes solaires dans les salons de bronzage, dans l'étiologie du cancer de la peau.

Revue de la littérature scientifique

Pour répondre a ces préoccupations, le CIRC a réuni un Groupe international de travail(3) qui a évalué toutes les données scientifiques disponibles liées aux effets sanitaires, positifs et nocifs, de l'exposition aux rayonnements UV artificiels par l'utilisation d'installations de bronzage en intérieur, notamment pour déterminer si leur utilisation accroît le risque de cancer cutané.

Evaluation

Les études épidémiologiques n'apportent pas d'indications homogènes et régulières selon lesquelles l'utilisation d'installations de bronzage intérieures en général serait associée au développement du mélanome ou du cancer cutané non melanome(4). Il existe à cela plusieurs explications techniques. Tout d'abord, la connaissance des niveaux d'exposition aux UV lors du bronzage en intérieur est très imprécise. En outre, les premières études publiées avaient une puissance trop faible pour déceler des associations à long terme entre l'exposition aux UV artificiels et le cancer, qui ne sont apparues qu'après une longue période de latence. “Considérer simultanément toutes les données disponibles nous a permis de formuler un certain nombre de conclusions claires”, a notamment déclaré le Dr Boyle.

Conclusions

1. Nette augmentation du risque de mélanome associée à l'utilisation des bancs solaires entre 10 et 30 ans
Les données montraient une augmentation nette et uniforme du risque de mélanome chez les personnes ayant commencé à utiliser les bancs solaires entre l'âge de 10 et 30 ans : une augmentation de 75% du risque de mélanome a été calculée pour ces utilisateurs d'appareils de bronzage artificiel. Cette augmentation, dans la population générale, bien qu'elle ne soit pas statistiquement significative, n'est toutefois pas négligeable.

2. Augmentation du risque de carcinome épidermoïde de la peau associée à l'utilisation des bancs solaires dans l'adolescence
Des données limitées laissent penser que le risque de développement du carcinome epidermoïde est également accru après une utilisation débutée dans l'adolescence.

3. Système immunitaire affecté
Les données laissent également penser qu'il existe des effets nocifs liés à l'utilisation des bancs solaires sur la réponse immunitaire de la peau et possiblement sur les yeux (mélanome oculaire).

4. Aucun effet sanitaire positif
Le bronzage artificiel confère à la peau peu ou pas de protection du tout contre les lésions solaires, pas plus que l'utilisation d'installations de bronzage artificiel en intérieur ne confère de protection contre la carence en vitamine D. Les données laissent également penser que l'utilisation d'installations de bronzage en intérieur a des effets nocifs sur la réponse immunitaire de la peau et peut-être des yeux (mélanome oculaire).

Message de santé publique

Le Dr Boyle a conclu que “si le mandat du CIRC concerne principalement l'expertise scientifique et l'évaluation du risque épidemiologique, étant donné le poids et la gravité des résultats, nous estimons qu'il faut sérieusement envisager d'entreprendre des actions effectives pour restreindre l'accès aux installations de bronzage artificiel (solariums, salons de bronzage) aux mineurs et aux jeunes adultes.”


Notes:

(1) Le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC) fait partie de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé. Sa mission consiste à coordonner et à mener des recherches sur les causes du cancer chez l'homme et sur les mécanismes de la cancérogenèse, ainsi qu'à élaborer des stratégies scientifiques de lutte contre le cancer. Le Centre participe à des recherches épidemiologiques et expérimentales, et assure la diffusion de l'information scientifique au moyen de publications, de conférences, de cours, et de bourses d'études.

(2) Les rayonnements UV A, B et C ont été classés comme probablement cancérogènes par un Groupe de travail du CIRC en 1992. En outre, ses membres concluaient que “L'utilisation de lampes solaires et de bancs solaires entraîne des expositions qui sont probablement cancérogènes pour l'homme (Groupe 2A)”. Si la lumière UV naturelle stimule bien la production de la vitamine D, indispensable, l'exposition à la lumière solaire naturelle doit être modérée, et l'exposition aux rayonnements UV artificiels, comme dans le cas de l'exposition aux bancs solaires, doit être évitée à tout prix.

(3) Les membres du Groupe de travail étaient les suivants : Dr Philippe Autier1, Dr Mathieu Boniol1, Dr Peter Boyle1, Dr Jean-Francois Doré2, Dr Sara Gandini3, Dr Adele Green (Présidente)4, Dr Julia Newton-Bishop5, Dr Martin A. Weinstock6, Dr Johan Westerdahl7, Dr Béatrice Secretan (Coordinatrice)1, Dr Stephen Walter8. Leurs conclusions sont publiées en ligne par l’International Journal of Cancer

1 IARC - 2 INSERM U590, Centre Léon Berard, Lyon, France - 3 Institut européen d'Oncologie, Milan, Italie - 4 Queensland Institute of Medical Research, Australie - 5 Cancer Research UK - RU - 6 Brown University Medical School - USA - 7 Hôpital universitaire de Lund - Suède [empêché] - 8 McMaster University - Ontario, Canada


(4) Il existe trois principaux types de cancers de la peau : le carcinome baso-cellulaire (CBC) est la forme la plus fréquente de cancer et la moins agressive. Les cellules basales sont les cellules qui tapissent la couche la plus profonde de l'épiderme. Une tumeur de cette couche s'appelle carcinome baso-cellulaire. Le soleil est responsable de plus de 90% de tous les cancers cutanés, y compris le CBC, et la surexposition chronique a la lumière solaire est la cause de la plupart des cas de carcinome baso-cellulaire. Les CBC surviennent le plus fréquemment sur la face, les oreilles, le cou, le cuir chevelu, les épaules et le dos. Le cancer épidermoïde (CE) est une tumeur maligne. Elle est plus agressive que le cancer baso-cellulaire et elle métastase plus fréquemment que lui. Le mélanome est le type le plus dangereux de cancer cutané. Il concerne les cellules qui produisent la pigmentation (mélanine), qui est responsable de la couleur de la peau et des cheveux. Le développement du mélanome est lié à l'exposition au soleil, notamment aux coups de soleil au cours de l'enfance, et est le plus fréquent chez les personnes ayant une peau claire, des yeux bleus ou verts et des cheveux roux ou blonds.





World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer


Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer


150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr