PRESS RELEASE
N° 175
28 March 2007 


BREAST AND COLORECTAL CANCERS ARE ASSOCIATED WITH ALCOHOL CONSUMPTION, SAYS IARC


Alcohol drinking has long been known to cause cancers of the oral cavity, pharynx, larynx, oesophagus, and liver (IARC Monographs Volume 44, 1988). The addition of breast cancer and colorectal cancer, two of the most common cancers worldwide, to this list indicates that the burden of cancer attributable to alcohol consumption is higher than previously thought. "The scientific evidence relating alcohol drinking to an increased risk of cancer continues to grow as does the contribution of alcohol drinking to the global cancer burden. The clear association with increased risk of breast cancer associated with even modest levels of alcohol drinking is a major concern particularly in view of the changing drinking patterns of women in many countries. Public Health action against alcohol consumption, especially excessive alcohol consumption, needs to be stepped up", said Dr Peter Boyle, Director of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), the cancer research agency of the World Health Organization.

This is the newest evaluation from the IARC Monographs programme
In February, 2007, 26 scientists from 15 countries met at IARC in Lyon, France, to reassess the carcinogenicity of alcoholic beverages. This assessment will be published in volume 96 of the IARC Monographs. A summary of the meeting appears today in The Lancet Oncology (Carcinogenicity of alcoholic beverages, Robert Baan et al., Policy Watch, The Lancet Oncology, Volume 8, Issue 4 , April 2007, Pages 292-293) and on the Monographs programme website.

Alcohol one of the top-10 risks for health
Although moderate alcohol consumption has some health benefits, the WHO has identified alcohol drinking as one of the top-10 risks for global burden of disease. In 2002, more than 1900 million people (>=15 years of age) around the world were estimated to be regular consumers of alcoholic beverages, with an average daily intake of 13 g of ethanol (about one drink).

Consumption highest in Europe - and increasing in Asia
In general, men drink alcohol more often and in larger quantities than women do. On the basis of production data, per-capita consumption is highest in eastern Europe. In Africa, South America, and Asia, alcohol consumption is comparatively lower, but a large proportion of alcohol is produced locally and remains unrecorded. Over the past 40 years, alcohol consumption has remained stable in most regions of the world, except in the western Pacific region-predominantly China-where it has increased about five-fold.

Targeted organs
The Working Group reviewed the epidemiological publications on the possible association between alcohol consumption and cancer at 27 anatomical sites.
For the following cancers a causal association with alcohol drinking has been established:

 
Cancers of the oral cavity, pharynx, larynx and oesophagus
Many studies of different design and in different populations around the world have consistently shown that regular alcohol consumption is associated with an increased risk for cancers of the oral cavity, pharynx, larynx, and oesophagus. Daily consumption of around 50 g of alcohol increases the risk for these cancers two- to three-fold, compared with the risk in non-drinkers.

Liver cancer
A large number of cohort and case-control studies provide strong evidence that the consumption of alcohol is an independent risk factor for primary liver cancer. Cirrhosis and other liver diseases often occur before the cancer becomes manifest and patients with these disorders generally reduce their alcohol intake. Therefore, the effect of alcohol consumption on the risk for liver cancer is difficult to quantify.

Breast cancer
More than 100 epidemiological studies that assessed the association between alcohol consumption and breast cancer in women consistently found an increased risk with increasing alcohol intake. A pooled analysis of 53 studies on more than 58 000 women with breast cancer showed that daily consumption of about 50 g of alcohol is associated with a relative risk of about 1.5 (95% confidence interval 1.3-1.6), compared with that in non-drinkers. Even for regular consumption of 18 g of alcohol per day, there is a small but statistically significant increase in relative risk.

Colorectal cancer
The association between alcohol consumption and colorectal cancer has been investigated in more than 50 prospective and case-control studies. Pooled results from eight cohort studies and data from recent meta-analyses provide evidence for an increased relative risk of about 1.4 for colorectal cancer with regular consumption of about 50 g of alcohol per day, compared with that in non-drinkers. This association seems to be similar for colon cancer and for rectal cancer.

Risk increase

 
Organ site
Relative Risk increase for consumption of 50 g/day
Oral Cavity, Pharynx, Larynx, Oesophagus
2-3 x
Liver
Difficult to quantify
Breast
1.5 x
Colorectum
1.4 x

Furthermore, in populations that are genetically deficient in the activity of an enzyme involved in the metabolism of ethanol, much higher risks for cancer, particularly oesophageal cancer, after alcohol consumption have been reported than in populations with a fully active enzyme. This enzyme deficiency, a condition that is particularly prevalent in certain eastern-Asian populations, causes a strong facial flushing response, physical discomfort, and severe toxic reactions.

Risk linked to alcohol, not to type of drink
As these associations were observed with different types of alcoholic beverages, and given the carcinogenicity of ethanol in animals, ethanol in alcoholic beverages was classified as "carcinogenic to humans (Group 1)".

Alcohol + Tobacco = multiplied risk
The adverse effects of drinking and smoking do not simply add up, but seem to be multiplicative.

"The take home message is simple" concluded Dr Boyle: "If you drink alcohol you should drink in moderation and you should certainly not smoke tobacco under any circumstances."


For more information

See IARC's website, http://www.iarc.fr/, or the Monographs programme website, http://monographs.iarc.fr/.
The Lancet Oncology publishes a summary of this evaluation, in its Policy Watch Section, on April 1, 2007.
For more technical information, you may write to
.





World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer


Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer


150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 175
28 mars 2007 


LES CANCERS COLORECTAUX ET DU SEIN SONT ASSOCIES A LA CONSOMMATION D'ALCOOL, PREVIENT LE CIRC


La consommation d'alcool est connue depuis longtemps pour provoquer des cancers de la cavité buccale, du pharynx, du larynx, de l'œsophage et du foie (Volume 44 des Monographies du CIRC, 1988). L'addition à cette liste du cancer du sein et du cancer colorectal, deux des cancers les plus fréquents dans le monde, indique que le fardeau du cancer imputable à la consommation d'alcool est plus lourd qu'on ne pensait jusque là. "Les données scientifiques établissant un lien entre la consommation d'alcool et un risque accru de cancer continuent de s'accumuler, de même que celles qui montrent la part qu'occupe cette consommation d'alcool dans le fardeau mondial du cancer. L'association claire et nette entre un risque accru de cancer du sein et des niveaux de consommation d'alcool mêmes faibles est une source de préoccupation majeure, notamment au vu de l'évolution des habitudes de consommation d'alcool chez les femmes dans de nombreux pays. Les actions de santé publique contre la consommation d'alcool, notamment une consommation excessive, doivent être renforcées", a déclaré le Dr Peter Boyle, Directeur du Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (IARC), l'agence de recherche sur le cancer de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé.

La dernière en date des évaluations du Programme des Monographies du CIRC
En février 2007, 26 chercheurs venus de 15 pays différents se sont réunis au CIRC à Lyon (France), pour procéder à la ré-évaluation de la cancérogénicité des boissons alcooliques. Cette évaluation constituera le volume 96 de la série des Monographies du CIRC. Un résumé de cette réunion paraît aujourd'hui dans The Lancet Oncology (Carcinogenicity of alcoholic beverages, Robert Baan et coll., Policy Watch, The Lancet Oncology, Volume 8, Issue 4 , April 2007, Pages 292-293) et sur le site internet du Programme.

L'alcool l'un des dix principaux risques pour la santé
Bien qu'une consommation modérée d'alcool ait certains effets bénéfiques pour la santé, l'OMS a identifié la consommation d'alcool comme étant l'un des 10 premiers facteurs de risque dans le fardeau mondial de la maladie. En 2002, on estimait à plus de 1900 millions de personnes (>=15 ans d'âge) dans le monde le nombre de consommateurs réguliers d'alcool, avec une consommation quotidienne moyenne de 13 g d'éthanol (un verre environ).

La consommation la plus élevée en Europe - en augmentation en Asie
En général, les hommes boivent de l'alcool plus souvent et en plus grande quantité que les femmes. D'après les chiffres de production, c'est en Europe orientale que la consommation par tête est la plus élevée. En Afrique, en Amérique du Sud et en Asie, la consommation d'alcool est comparativement plus faible, mais une proportion importante d'alcool est produite localement et reste inconnue pour les statistiques. Ces 40 dernières années, la consommation d'alcool est restée stable dans la plupart des régions du monde, sauf dans le Pacifique occidental -en Chine principalement- où elle a pratiquement quintuplé.

Organes ciblés
Le Groupe de Travail a passé en revue les publications épidémiologiques sur la possible association entre la consommation d'alcool et le cancer sur 27 localisations anatomiques.
Une association de cause à effet avec la consommation d'alcool a été établie pour les cancers suivants :

 
Cancers de la cavité buccale, du pharynx, du larynx et de l'œsophage
De nombreuses études de conception différente menées dans différentes populations dans le monde ont montré de façon concordante qu'une consommation régulière d'alcool est associée à une augmentation du risque des cancers de la cavité buccale, du pharynx, du larynx et de l'œsophage. Une consommation quotidienne d'environ 50 g d'alcool augmente le risque de ces cancers d'un facteur 2 à 3, par rapport au risque des non-buveurs.

Cancer du foie
Un grand nombre d'études cas-témoins et de cohorte apportent des données solides montrant que la consommation d'alcool est un facteur de risque indépendant pour le cancer primitif du foie. La cirrhose et d'autres maladies hépatiques surviennent souvent avant que le cancer ne devienne manifeste et les patients atteints par ces maladies réduisent en général leur consommation. L'effet de la consommation d'alcool sur le risque de cancer du foie est par conséquent difficile à quantifier.

Cancer du sein
Plus d'une centaine d'études épidémiologiques qui cherchaient à évaluer l'association entre consommation d'alcool et cancer du sein chez la femme ont mis en évidence de façon régulière et concordante une augmentation du risque parallèle à l'augmentation de la consommation. Une analyse d'ensemble de 53 études portant sur plus de 58 000 femmes atteintes d'un cancer du sein a montré qu'une consommation quotidienne de 50 g d'alcool est associée à un risque relatif d'environ 1,5 (intervalle de confiance à 95%, 1,3-1,6), par rapport au risque des non-buveuses. Même pour une consommation régulière de 18 g d'alcool par jour, il existe une augmentation modeste mais statistiquement significative du risque relatif.

Cancer colorectal
L'association entre consommation d'alcool et cancer colorectal a fait l'objet de plus de 50 études prospectives et cas-témoins. Les résultats rassemblés de huit études de cohorte et les données de récentes méta-analyses apportent des indications d'une augmentation du risque relatif d'environ 1,4 pour le cancer colorectal pour une consommation régulière d'environ 50 g d'alcool par jour, par rapport au risque des non-buveurs. Cette association semble être semblable pour le cancer du côlon et pour le cancer rectal.

Augmentation de risque

 
Localisation organique
Augmentation du risque relatif pour une consommation de 50 g/jour
Cavité buccale, pharynx, larynx, œsophage
2 à 3 x
Foie
Difficile à quantifier
Sein
1,5 x
Colon-rectum
1,4 x

De plus, dans les populations qui, génétiquement, ont une déficience d'activité d'une enzyme intervenant dans le métabolisme de l'éthanol, des risques de cancer beaucoup plus élevés ont été rapportés, notamment de cancer de l'œsophage, après consommation d'alcool, par rapport aux populations chez lesquelles cette enzyme est pleinement fonctionnelle. Cette carence enzymatique, particulièrement prévalente dans les populations d'Asie de l'Est, provoque un violent rougissement, une gêne physique et de sévères réactions toxiques.

Le risque est lié à l'alcool, pas au type de boisson
Ces associations ayant été observées avec différents types de boissons alcooliques, et étant donné la cancérogénicité de l'éthanol chez l'animal, l'éthanol dans les boissons alcooliques a été classé comme "cancérogène pour l'homme (Groupe 1)".

Alcool + Tabac = risque multiplié
Les effets néfastes de l'alcool et du tabac ne s'ajoutent pas simplement les uns aux autres, mais semblent se multiplier.

"Le message essentiel à retenir est simple" a déclaré le Dr Boyle en conclusion : "Si vous buvez de l'alcool, vous devez boire avec modération, et en tout état de cause, vous devez vous abstenir du tabac".


Pour plus d'information
Voir le site internet du CIRC, http://www.iarc.fr/, ou celui du Programme des Monographies, http://monographs.iarc.fr/.
The Lancet Oncology publie un résumé de cette évaluation dans sa section Policy Watch du 1er avril 2007





World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer


Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer


150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr