PRESS RELEASE
N° 176
14 May 2007 

Ireland joins, Russia returns

The International Agency for Research on Cancer just expanded to twenty Participating States, with the admission of the Republic of Ireland joining officially at the 49th Session of the IARC Governing Council in Lyon (France), May 10-11, 2007.

In addition, the Russian Federation has now resumed its active participation in the work of the Agency, and the Russian Minister of Health and Social Development, Mr Mikhail Zurabov came in person to deliver a message to the Agency's governing body.

“It is a source of great pleasure to see more Participating States joining the Agency. While this reflects the growing awareness of the increasing cancer burden around the world, it also is a measure of the growing political commitment to fight the disease, not only in the high-income countries but increasingly in low- to middle income nations”, said Dr Peter Boyle, Director of the IARC.



For more information, please contact:
IARC Communications Group, at   .




World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer


Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer


150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 176
14 mai 2007 


ADMISSION DE L'IRLANDE, RETOUR DE LA RUSSIE
Le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer vient d'accueillir son vingtième Etat participant, la République d'Irlande, officiellement admise lors de la 49ème Session du Conseil de Direction du CIRC qui s'est tenue les 10 et 11 mai 2007 à Lyon (France).

En outre, la Fédération de Russie a, à présent, repris sa participation active aux activités du Centre, et le Ministre russe de la Santé et du Développement social, M. Mikhail Zurabov est venu en personne offrir un message à l'organe directeur du Centre.

"C'est un grand plaisir d'accueillir davantage d'Etats participants au Centre. Si ceci reflète la prise de conscience croissante de l'augmentation du fardeau du cancer dans le monde, c'est aussi le témoin d'un engagement politique croissant à la lutte contre cette maladie, non seulement dans les pays à hauts revenus, mais de plus en plus dans les nations à revenus faibles et moyens”, a déclaré le Dr Peter Boyle, Directeur du CIRC.


Pour davantage d’informations sur le CIRC, contacter le Groupe Communication, à .




World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer


Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer


150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr