N° 184
11 April 2008 

Breast cancer: a role for trans fatty acids?

Two groups from INSERM and Institut Gustave Roussy collaborated to conduct an epidemiologic study on a cohort of French women members of the Mutuelle générale de l'Education nationale (E3N). The scientists showed that the risk of breast cancer was doubled in women having higher serum levels of trans fatty acids. The trans fatty acids studied are those from industrial sources (processed foods, processed bread, processed pastries, cakes, potato chips, pizza dough, etc.).
Unlike Asian countries, where the protective effect of omega-3 fatty acids from fish on breast cancer risk was clearly demonstrated, a protective effect against breast cancer was not found in this study.
These results are published in the American Journal of Epidemiology

The E3N cohort is the French part of EPIC, a large European study coordinated by the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), and involving 500 000 Europeans in 10 countries.

The unhealthy effects of trans fatty acids on cardiovascular risk have been well established since the early 1990s, yet their impact on breast cancer risk remained to be elucidated. The teams of scientists from INSERM and Institut Gustave Roussy sought to evaluate the role of various types of fatty acids on breast cancer development, using blood samples collected between 1995 and 1998, amongst 25 000 of the 100 000 women followed up within the E3N study.

In order to assess the health effects of human diet, scientists assayed various biomarkers of diet in the blood, and particularly fatty acid levels. Data on 363 women diagnosed with breast cancer after blood sampling were analysed. Their serum fatty acid levels were then compared with those of breast cancer-free women controls. Two controls were matched to each breast cancer case, for a total of 702 women.

Near-doubling of risk
The analysis of trans and cis fatty acids showed that breast cancer risk increases with the increase in trans fatty acid level, reflecting processed food consumption. These results show that women with elevated serum levels of trans fatty acid have almost twice the risk of developing breast cancer, compared to women with the lowest levels. "At this stage, we can only recommend limiting the consumption of processed foods, the source of industrially-produced trans fatty acid. Particularly, industrial processes generating trans fatty acids (partially hydrogenated vegetable oils) still in use should be curbed, as this has been undertaken in Denmark for a few years. As far as regulations on labeling of processed products, the content in trans fatty acids should be clearly indicated", the report concluded.

Protective effect of omega-3 fatty acids for breast cancer not universal
Also, the authors of the study confirmed the results of other studies conducted in North American and European countries concerning the absence of association between omega-3 fatty acid serum levels, for which the main dietary source is the intake of fish, and risk of breast cancer. While a protective effect of omega-3 fatty acids on breast cancer risk was clearly demonstrated in Asian countries, where fish consumption is much higher than in Europe or in North America, this protective effect could not be measured in this highly-powered French study, probably due to considerably lower per-capita consumption of fish.

In industrialised countries, breast cancer is the most common cancer in women. According to the authors of the study, among the risk factors that may lend themselves to primary prevention, diet shows strong potential, as a single but consistent change in dietary habits could lower the risk of breast cancer, subject to clear identification of responsible nutrients. Among those, dietary lipids could play a major role. Further analysis from the EPIC study will therefore test the hypothesis of a role for trans fatty acids in carcinogenesis in a population with wide variations in the intake of those fatty acids, among other lipids.


E3N, an epidemiologic study conducted on women members of the MGEN (French National Education workers complementary medical insurance scheme) led by Dr Françoise Clavel-Cahpelon (INSERM-Gustave Roussy), is a prospective cohort study of about 100 000 volunteer French women born between 1925 and 1950, and followed up since 1990.
Data on their lifestyle factors (diet, hormonal treatments, etc.) and their health status were collected by self-administered questionnaire every other year since 1990. These data were complemented by biological measurements, obtained for 25 000 volunteers, from a blood specimen taken for later analysis (case-control studies nested within the cohort). E3N gives primary consideration to breast and colorectal cancers, due to their high incidence rates.

For more information:

V. Chajès; A. C.M. Thiébaut; M. Rotival; E. Gauthier ; V. Maillard; M.C. Boutron-Ruault; V. Joulin; G. M. Lenoir ; F. Clavel-Chapelon. Serum trans-monounsaturated fatty acids are associated with an increased risk of breast cancer in the E3N-EPIC Study. Am. J. Epidemiol. 2008 (DOI: 10.1093/aje/kwn069)


Véronique Chajès
Unité mixte de recherche CNRS -IGR-Université Paris Sud FRE 2939 "Stabilité génétique et oncogenèse"
Tel : +33 (0) 142 115 414

Françoise Clavel-Chapelon
Responsable de l'Etude E3N
Directrice de Recherche Inserm, Equipe ERI 20, Institut Gustave Roussy.
Tel : +33 (0) 142 114 148

World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer
Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 184
11 avril 2008 

Cancer du sein : les acides gras trans incriminés

Deux équipes de l'Inserm et de l'Institut Gustave Roussy se sont associées pour mener une étude épidémiologique portant sur la cohorte française de femmes adhérentes de la Mutuelle Générale de l'Education Nationale (E3N). Les chercheurs montrent que le risque de cancer du sein est presque doublé chez les femmes ayant des taux sanguins élevés d'acides gras trans. Les acides gras trans incriminés sont ceux d'origine industrielle (produits manufacturés, pains industriels, viennoiserie, gâteaux, chips, pâtes à pizzas, etc).
Par ailleurs, contrairement à ce qui a été montré dans des études asiatiques, ces travaux ne mettent pas en évidence d'effet protecteur des acides gras oméga 3 d'origine marine sur le risque de cancer du sein.
Ces résultats sont publiés dans la revue American Journal of Epidemiology.

La cohorte E3N est la partie française de EPIC, vaste étude européenne coordonnée par le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer, portant sur 500 000 Européens dans 10 pays.

Les effets défavorables des acides gras trans sur le risque cardiovasculaire sont connus depuis le début des années 1990, mais leur impact sur le risque de cancer du sein restait à définir. Les équipes de chercheurs de l'Inserm et de l'Institut Gustave Roussy ont cherché à évaluer le rôle joué par les différents types d'acides gras sur le développement du cancer du sein en utilisant des prélèvements sanguins recueillis entre 1995 et 1998 parmi 25 000 des 100 000 femmes suivies dans le cadre de l'étude E3N.
Pour tester l'effet de l'alimentation sur la santé, les scientifiques ont mesuré différents biomarqueurs de l'alimentation dans le sang, en particulier ici les taux d'acides gras. Les données des 363 femmes ayant eu un cancer du sein postérieur au prélèvement de sang ont été analysées. Leurs taux sanguins d'acides gras ont été comparés avec ceux de femmes n'ayant pas eu de cancer du sein et choisies comme témoins. Pour chaque cas de cancer du sein, deux témoins ont été sélectionnés, soit 702 femmes témoins au total.

Un risque presque doublé
En analysant les acides gras trans et cis, les chercheurs ont trouvé que le risque de cancer du sein augmente avec la teneur en acides gras trans, reflet de la consommation en produits manufacturés. Ces résultats montrent que les femmes ayant des taux élevés d'acide gras trans dans le sérum ont un risque d'avoir un cancer du sein presque doublé par rapport aux femmes ayant le taux le plus bas. "A ce stade, nous ne pouvons que recommander une diminution de la consommation de produits manufacturés, source d'acides gras trans d'origine industrielle. Il conviendrait en particulier de limiter les procédés industriels générant des acides gras trans (huiles végétales partiellement hydrogénées) encore utilisés, ainsi que cela a été entrepris au Danemark depuis quelques années. En matière de réglementation concernant l'étiquetage des produits manufacturés, la quantité d'acides gras trans devrait être clairement indiquée", indiquent les chercheurs.

L'effet protecteur des acides gras oméga-3 pour le cancer du sein n'est pas universel
Par ailleurs, dans ce travail, les auteurs sont en accord avec les résultats des études conduites dans les pays européens et nord-américains concernant l'absence d'association entre les taux sanguins d'acides gras oméga-3, dont la source alimentaire principale est la consommation de poissons, et le risque de cancer du sein. Si un effet protecteur des acides gras oméga-3 sur le risque de cancer du sein a clairement été montré dans les pays asiatiques, où la consommation de poissons est beaucoup plus importante qu'en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, cet effet protecteur n'est pas mesurable dans cette puissante étude française probablement en raison d'une consommation trop faible de poissons.

Dans les pays industrialisés, le cancer du sein est le cancer plus fréquent chez la femme. Selon les auteurs, parmi les facteurs de risque pouvant faire l'objet d'une prévention, l'alimentation présente un fort potentiel puisqu'une modification adéquate des habitudes alimentaires permettrait de diminuer le risque de cancer du sein, sous réserve que les nutriments en cause soient clairement identifiés. Parmi ces nutriments, le rôle des lipides alimentaires pourrait être extrêmement important.
Une étude des taux d'acides gras trans dans des populations aux pratiques alimentaires encore plus diverses est donc essentielle pour confirmer les résultats de cette analyse. Une telle étude devrait être prochainement entreprise au sein de la population européenne de l'étude EPIC.


L'ETUDE E3N

E3N, Etude Epidémiologique auprès de femmes de la MGEN (Mutuelle Générale de l'Education Nationale) menée par le docteur Françoise Clavel-Chapelon (Inserm-Institut Gustave Roussy), est une enquête de cohorte prospective portant sur environ 100 000 femmes volontaires françaises nées entre 1925 et 1950 et suivies depuis 1990.
Les informations concernant d'une part leur mode de vie (alimentation, prise de traitements hormonaux …) et d'autre part l'évolution de leur état de santé, sont recueillies par auto-questionnaires tous les 2 ans depuis 1990. Elles sont complétées par des données biologiques, obtenues sur 25 000 volontaires, à partir d'un prélèvement sanguin stocké à des fins de dosages ultérieurs (études cas-témoins dans la cohorte). Deux localisations cancéreuses sont étudiées en priorité du fait de leur forte incidence : le sein et le côlon-rectum.
 

Pour en savoir plus :

Source
V. Chajès; A. C.M. Thiébaut; M. Rotival; E. Gauthier ; V. Maillard; M.C. Boutron-Ruault; V. Joulin; G. M. Lenoir ; F. Clavel-Chapelon. Serum trans-monounsaturated fatty acids are associated with an increased risk of breast cancer in the E3N-EPIC Study. Am. J. Epidemiol. 2008 (DOI: 10.1093/aje/kwn069)

Contacts chercheurs

Véronique Chajès
Unité mixte de recherche CNRS -IGR-Université Paris Sud FRE 2939 "Stabilité génétique et oncogenèse"
Tel : +33 (0) 142 115 414
e-mail:

Françoise Clavel-Chapelon
Responsable de l'Etude E3N
Directrice de Recherche Inserm, Equipe ERI 20, Institut Gustave Roussy.
Tel : +33 (0) 142 114 148
e-mail:



World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer
Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr