PRESS RELEASE
N° 189
30 June 2008 

SMOKE-FREE POLICIES EFFECTIVE, SAYS INTERNATIONAL AGENCY FOR RESEARCH ON CANCER

Smoke-free policies reduce the exposure of both adults and children, reduce the prevalence of smoking in adults and reduce the risk of heart disease related to smoke exposure. A resulting reduction in the lung cancer burden may well occur as a result of these policies, but relevant evidence will only become available some time in the future. Further, such policies do not negatively affect the restaurant and bar industry. These findings are the latest in a series of reviews and evaluations conducted by an international group of experts convened at the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), in Lyon, France. A summary of their conclusions will be published exclusively online and in the July edition of The Lancet Oncology (TLO).

Dr John Pierce, of the University of California-San Diego (California, USA), and Dr María León from IARC's Tobacco and Cancer Team, in collaboration with a Working Group (WG) of scientists from around the world and the IARC Secretariat prepared this Special Report to appear in TLO. The WG assessed 11 proposals relating to causal effects of smoke-free policies, and graded them into three categories: 'Sufficient', 'strong', and 'insufficient data to come to a conclusion'. The WG comprehensively assessed all peer-reviewed published work and accessible governmental reports on the effect of smoke-free policies to reach these conclusions.

The group found sufficient evidence for the following: that implementation of smoke-free policies substantially decreases second-hand smoke exposure; that smoke-free workplaces decrease cigarette consumption in continuing smokers; that smoke-free policies do not decrease the business activity of the restaurant and bar industry; that introduction of smoke-free policies decreases respiratory symptoms in workers; that voluntary smoke-free home policies decrease children's second-hand smoke-exposure; and that smoke-free home policies decrease adult smoking.

Strong evidence was found that smoke-free workplaces decrease the prevalence of adult smoking; that smoke-free policies decrease tobacco use in youths; that the introduction of smoke-free legislation decreases heart disease morbidity; and that smoke-free home policies decrease smoking in youths. But, because the lead time for lung cancer to be diagnosed after exposure to a carcinogen such as cigarette smoke can be 20 or more years, the group concluded that “data are not yet available regarding the expected decline in lung cancer after implementation of smoke-free policies.”

On the basis of the evidence reviewed, the Working Group recommends that governments enact and implement smoke-free policies that conform to the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO-FCTC). The authors conclude: “Implementation of such policies can have a broader population effect of increasing smoke-free environments. Not only do these policies achieve their aim of protecting the health of non-smokers by decreasing exposure to second-hand smoke, they also have many effects on smoking behaviour, which compound the expected health benefits. These benefits will be greater if these policies are enacted as part of a comprehensive tobacco-control strategy that implements all of the provisions called for by the WHO-FCTC.”

"Today, tobacco smoking is the largest, single avoidable cause of premature death from chronic disease in high-resource countries," said Dr Peter Boyle, Director of IARC. "It has been estimated that there will be 450 million deaths caused by smoking world-wide in the first half of this century. The key priority to reduce this burden is to stop current smokers from smoking. The evidence that smoke-free policies are effective, provided from this review, should encourage more widespread implementation," he concluded.


Contacts:
Dr John P Pierce, University of California, San Diego, California, USA (English)

Dr María E León, Tobacco and Cancer Team, IARC, Lyon, France (English, Spanish)

Dr Paolo Boffetta, Lifestyle, Environment and Cancer Group, IARC, Lyon, France , (English, French, Italian, Spanish)

Dr Nicolas Gaudin, IARC Communications Group, IARC, Lyon, France, (English, French)




World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer
Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 189
30 juin 2008 

LES POLITIQUES ANTITABAC SONT EFFICACES, SELON LE CENTRE INTERNATIONAL DE RECHERCHE SUR LE CANCER

Les politiques antitabac réduisent l'exposition des adultes et des enfants, réduisent la prévalence du tabagisme chez les adultes et réduisent le risque de maladies cardiaques lié à l'exposition à la fumée. Il est possible que ces politiques entraînent une réduction du fardeau du cancer du poumon, mais les éléments pertinents pouvant le démontrer ne seront connus que plus tard. Par ailleurs, ces politiques n'ont pas d'incidence négative sur l'activité des bars et des restaurants. Ces conclusions sont les dernières d'une série d'études et d'évaluations menées par un groupe international d'experts réunis au Centre international de recherche sur le cancer (CIRC) à Lyon (France). Le résumé de leurs conclusions sera publié exclusivement en ligne dans l'édition de juillet de la revue The Lancet Oncology (TLO).

Le Dr John Pierce, de l'Université de Californie à San Diego (Etats-Unis), et le Dr María León, de l'Equipe Tabac et cancer du CIRC, en collaboration avec un Groupe de Travail (GT) composé d'experts du monde entier et de chercheurs du CIRC ont préparé ce rapport spécial à paraître dans TLO. Le GT a évalué 11 propositions relatives au degré de causalité des effets des politiques antitabac, et les a classées en trois catégories : 'suffisantes', 'fortes' et 'données insuffisantes pour permettre de conclure'. Pour parvenir à ces conclusions, le Groupe de travail a évalué en détail tous les travaux sur l'effet des politiques antitabac publiés dans des revues à comité de lecture et autres rapports gouvernementaux accessibles.

Le groupe a trouvé des indications suffisantes pour affirmer : que la mise en œuvre des politiques antitabac diminue sensiblement l'exposition à la fumée passive; que l'interdiction de fumer au travail entraîne une diminution de la consommation de cigarettes chez les fumeurs; que les politiques antitabac ne font pas baisser l'activité des bars et restaurants; que l'introduction de politiques antitabac entraîne une réduction des symptômes respiratoires chez les travailleurs; que bannir volontairement la fumée de la maison réduit l'exposition des enfants à la fumée passive; et que bannir volontairement la fumée de la maison réduit le tabagisme des adultes.

Le GT a estimé disposer de fortes indications pour affirmer que l'interdiction de fumer au travail entraîne une diminution de la prévalence du tabagisme chez les adultes; que les politiques antitabac font baisser la consommation du tabac chez les jeunes; que l'introduction de législations antitabac fait baisser la morbidité cardiaque; et que bannir volontairement le tabagisme domestique entraîne une réduction du tabagisme chez les jeunes. Toutefois, parce que le délai entre l'exposition à un agent cancérogène tel que la fumée de cigarette et le diagnostic du cancer du poumon peut être de 20 ans, voire davantage, le groupe a conclu que "les données ne sont pas encore connues pour ce qui concerne la diminution prévue des cancers du poumon liée à la mise en œuvre de politiques antitabac".

Sur la base des éléments examinés, le Groupe de travail recommande aux gouvernements d'adopter et de mettre en œuvre des politiques antitabac conformes à la Convention-cadre de l'OMS pour la lutte antitabac. Les auteurs concluent que 'la mise en œuvre de ces politiques peut avoir un effet plus large sur la population en multipliant les espaces non fumeurs. Non seulement ces politiques atteignent leur objectif de protéger la santé des non-fumeurs en diminuant leur exposition à la fumée des autres, mais elles ont aussi de nombreux effets sur le comportement des fumeurs eux-mêmes, ce qui devrait multiplier les bénéfices pour la santé. Ces bénéfices seront d'autant plus importants si ces politiques sont adoptées dans le cadre d'une stratégie globale de lutte contre le tabagisme qui mette en œuvre toutes les dispositions préconisées par la Convention-cadre de l'OMS'.

"Aujourd'hui, le tabagisme est la première cause évitable de décès prématuré par maladie chronique dans les pays à ressources élevées", a indiqué le Dr Peter Boyle, Directeur du CIRC. "On a estimé à 450 millions le nombre de décès que provoquera le tabagisme dans le monde au cours de la première moitié de ce siècle. La priorité clé pour réduire ce fardeau est d'empêcher les fumeurs actuels de fumer. Les preuves de l'efficacité des politiques antitabac, apportées par cette évaluation, devraient encourager une mise en place plus généralisée", a-t-il conclu.


Contact:
Dr John P Pierce, University of California, San Diego, Californie, Etats-Unis (anglais)

Dr María E León, Equipe Tabac et cancer, CIRC, France (anglais, espagnol)

Dr Paolo Boffetta, Groupe Mode de vie, environnement et cancer, CIRC, Lyon, France , (anglais, français, italien, espagnol)

Dr Nicolas Gaudin, Groupe Communication, CIRC, Lyon, France, (anglais, français)





World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer
Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr