PRESS RELEASE
N° 190
04 November 2008 

Large international study identifies genetic susceptibility to lung cancer

In a paper to be published in Nature Genetics on 2nd November, a worldwide consortium of investigators present a major breakthrough for understanding the genetic basis of lung cancer.

The results are based on the largest genetic study of lung cancer ever conducted, and was organised by the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC, Lyon, France), the Centre National de Génotypage (CNG, Evry, France), with support from the Institut National du Cancer (Paris, France).

The study brought together a research team from 18 countries who investigated DNA variants in more than 15,000 people: 6000 with lung cancer and 9000 without. The new lung cancer region is located on the 5th human chromosome and contains two known genes, TERT and CRR9, either of which might be the culprit. We think TERT is the most likely candidateÓ CNG Director Mark Lathrop said. "It's a gene that encodes part of telomerase, an enzyme critically linked to cancer development. ItÕs the stand out candidate".

Two separate risk variants were found by the investigators, and they increased life time lung cancer risk by up to 60%, depending on the number of copies a person carries. The risk was also present in both smokers and never-smokers. Nevertheless, such a change in risk is dwarfed by the lung cancer risk that results from smoking tobacco. "So stopping smoking or never starting is still the best way to avoid lung cancer, irrespective of your genes" noted Dr Paul Brennan, head of the research group at IARC. "Rather than telling us who exactly is going to get lung cancer, these results give us a better understanding of the disease. Treatments for lung cancer are still very poor, and this will hopefully lead us to better diagnostic and treatment options".

Note to editors : "Lung cancer susceptibility locus at 5p15.33" James D McKay et al. Published online 2nd November 2008. (DOI : 10.1038/ng.254)

Contact: Dr Paul Brennan,
Tel +33 472738391 (office)
+33 676107914 (cell)
Genetic Epidemiology Group
International Agency for Research on Cancer
150 cours Albert Thomas
Lyon 69008 France

The International Agency for Research on Cancer (http://www.iarc.fr)

The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) is part of the World Health Organization. IARC's mission is to coordinate and conduct research on the causes of human cancer, the mechanisms of carcinogenesis, and to develop scientific strategies for cancer control. The Genetic Epidemiology Group within IARC conducts large scale case–control studies of specific cancers, and participates in international consortia, in order to ensure that studies have adequate sample size.




World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer
Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
N° 190
04 novembre 2008 

Une prédisposition génétique au cancer du poumon identifiée

Un consortium mondial de chercheurs publie dans un article à paraître le 2 novembre dans Nature Genetics une avancée majeure pour la compréhension de la génétique du cancer du poumon chez l'homme.

Leurs résultats sont fondés sur la plus grande étude génétique jamais menée sur le cancer du poumon, organisée par le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC, Lyon, France), le Centre National de Génotypage (CNG, Evry, France) , avec le soutien de l’Institut national du Cancer (Paris, France) .

Cette étude a réuni une équipe de recherche concernant 18 pays différents qui ont étudié des variants d’ADN chez plus de 15 000 personnes : 6 000 sujets atteints de cancer du poumon et 9 000 témoins exempts de la maladie. La nouvelle région chromosomique identifiée est située sur le 5ème chromosome et contient deux gènes connus, TERT et CRR9 , qui pourraient l’un ou l’autre être directement impliqués dans cette prédisposition. “Nous pensons que TERT est le candidat le plus probable” a indiqué le Directeur du CNG, Mark Lathrop. “Il s’agit d’un gène qui code en partie la télomérase, une enzyme associée de façon critique au développement du cancer. Nous tenons là le meilleur candidat”.

Deux variants de risque séparés ont été découverts par les chercheurs, variants qui accroissent le risque de cancer du poumon sur la vie entière jusqu’à 60%, selon le nombre de copies que porte un individu. Le risque était également présent chez les fumeurs comme les non-fumeurs. Cependant, un tel changement du risque est infime par rapport au risque de cancer du poumon provoqué par la fumée du tabac. “Il reste qu’arrêter de fumer ou ne jamais commencer est encore la meilleure façon d’éviter le cancer du poumon, quelle que soit votre situation génétique” a ajouté le Dr Paul Brennan, qui dirige le groupe de recherche au CIRC. “Plutôt que de nous dire qui exactement va faire un cancer du poumon, ces résultats nous donnent une meilleure compréhension de la maladie. Les traitements du cancer du poumon sont encore très médiocres, et nous espérons que ces résultats nous ameneront à un meilleur diagnostic et de meilleures possibilités de traitement”.

Référence : "Lung cancer susceptibility locus at 5p15.33" James D McKay et al. Published online 2nd November 2008. (DOI : 10.1038/ng.254)

Contact: Dr Paul Brennan,
Tel +33 472738391 (office)
+33 676107914 (cell)
Groupe d'épidémiologie génétique
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer
150 cours Albert Thomas
Lyon 69008 France

Le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (http://www.iarc.fr)

Le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC) fait partie de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé. Sa mission consiste à coordonner et à mener des recherches sur les causes du cancer humain, sur les mécanismes de la cancérogenèse, et à élaborer des stratégies scientifiques de lutte contre le cancer. Le Groupe d'épidémiologie génétique mène de grandes études cas-témoins de cancers particuliers, et participe à des consortiums internationaux, pour faire en sorte que ses études atteignent une taille suffisante pour être informatives.




World Health Organization
International Agency for Research on Cancer
Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer

150, cours Albert-Thomas 69372 Lyon Cedex 08 (France)
Telephone: 33 472 738 485     Facsimile: 33 472 738 311     http://www.iarc.fr